Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

“Tell me that and we’ll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that’s how you want your story to go and we’ll write it straight across the sand.”

Dustwalk is Amani’s home. The desert sand is in her bones. But she wants to escape. More than a want. A need.
Then a foreigner with no name turns up to save her life, and with him the chance to run. But to where? The desert plains are full of danger. Sand and blood are swirling, and the Sultan’s enemies are on the rise.

Other books by the author
Traitor to the Throne (Feb 2017)

Extract
https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/ng-interactive/2016/feb/29/extract-rebel-of-the-sands-alwyn-hamilton

About the author
Alwyn Hamilton was born in Toronto and spent her early years bouncing between Europe and Canada until her parents settled in France. She left France for Cambridge University to study History of Art at King’s College. On graduating she worked in a bookshop in France, where she rediscovered YA. She then moved to London where she now lives and put her degree to use working for an auction house. REBEL OF THE SANDS is her first novel.

Author Website
http://rebelofthesands.co.uk

Book trailer

Interview with the author
https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/2016/mar/22/alwyn-hamilton-rebel-of-the-sands

If you liked this, try…
The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas
The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
The Sin Eater’s Daughter series by Melinda Salisbury
An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir
The Winner’s trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

5 thoughts on “Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

  1. I couldn’t really get into this book at first. I thought that it was a bit slow and nothing much happened. However, I was determined to read it and found that the pace picked up as I read on. Overall , I really enjoyed this story and I would recommend it.

  2. I absolutely loved this book! I didn’t expect it to go in the direction it did, which was a great surprise. The storyline was developed excellently, and the characters were in no way annoying and sometimes very amusing. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Tara
    I left this book to last to read and heard many great things about it from others that had already read it. The opening chapter had much impact and made me want to continue. The characters were really well developed so that you felt empathy for the characters when they were reflecting on sad times. The romance between Jin and Armani was refreshingly realistic and a pleasant change from normal sappy romance stories. I loved this book and almost everything about it .
    Katie

  3. This was a great story but I did have to work hard to remember who was related to who and this was important as these links were essential. I felt the last third was rather rushed but it was still a great story and I can’t wait for the sequel.

  4. Rebel of the Sands was a terrific story. For me it lacked only one thing, correct punctuation, and this was irritating! On the bright side, the plot was brilliant and unwound in a wonderful way. I loved the thought of djinni having their impressive powers and special traits. Overall I thought it was a very good story that I very much liked and I’d encourage people to read it!

  5. If you have never believed in magic, this book will change your mind. It’s the epitome of ‘successful’, boasting a complex combination of thrill, action and romance, all with a sprinkle of magic, story and culture – which is seriously difficult to achieve in a book! The author is incredibly talented, retelling magical stories within the text and binding them with emotions and action to create this masterpiece. I’ve also heard stories about Djinni all of the time, which made this book even more personal and special to me! And who doesn’t like magic? This is my favourite book at the moment and I can’t wait to meet the talented author in person.

    Mayisha

    I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. The plot and character development were very good, and happened at a good pace. One of my favourite aspects of the story was Jin and Amani’s unfolding love story, in the midst of this ever growing rebellion, and how their relationship grew throughout the book. I also very much enjoyed reading about the environment, and what the different villages and towns in Miraji were like, and how society there is so different in how they think to us now. All in all, I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys an action packed book, filled with conflict, romance and adventures across a barren and dangerous desert, where anything could happen.

    Amanpreet

Tell us what you thought...

