Broken Sky – L A Weatherly

Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world.

Where war is illegal, where harmony rules.

And where your date of birth marks your destiny.

But nothing is perfect.

And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

From the bestselling author of the Angel trilogy comes Broken Sky – an exhilarating epic set in a daring and distorted echo of 1940s America and first in a new trilogy.

Other books by the author
The Angel trilogy
Darkness Follows (Broken Trilogy #2)
Black Moon (Broken Trilogy #3  – March 2017)

Extract
http://www.readingzone.com/index.php?zone=sz&page=extracts_download
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e25PA_Ecfy0

About the author
L. A. Weatherly is the author of the bestselling Angel series, as well as almost 50 other books for children and teenagers. She’s originally from Little Rock, Arkansas, and now lives in Edinburgh with her husband. Her books have been translated into over 10 different languages.

Author Website
http://www.leeweatherly.com/

Interview with the author
https://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/2016/mar/09/la-weatherly-broken-sky-angel-teen-books-interview

If you liked this, try…
The Deviants by CJ Skuse
Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
This Savage Song by VE Schwab
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley
Fearsome Dreamer by Laure Eve

7 thoughts on “Broken Sky – L A Weatherly

  1. Broken Sky is the type of book in which, as you meet more and more characters, you start to think of this new fantasy world as your own reality. My mind was always racing, thinking of ways that Amity could get out of each situation, and this really helped me understand the plot. I’m glad that L A Weatherly wrote this book. It’s captivating!

  2. This was my favourite of all the books nominated for the award. The characters were complex and the storyline was well constructed and fast paced; there wasn’t a moment in the book where I felt tempted to stop reading due to lack of story progression. Although I was not able to relate much to Amity, as our situations are very different, it did not stop me from enjoying the book. L.A Weatherly perfectly captures the atmosphere of the alternate reality that the story is set in.

    Beth

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Broken Sky’, by L.A.Weatherly. It was an intriguing read form start to finish, a book which I found hard to put down once I got into it. The plot was well written, as it revealed more and more as you went on despite its complexity. I was sorry to have finished this book, but I look forward to reading the rest of the trilogy. I would recommend it to anyone from the age of 11 and over, a good read especially for those who are fans of other futuristic romances e.g. Divergent or the Hunger Games.
    Audrey

  3. Having previously read the Angel trilogy with much enjoyment I had great expectations for this book. However, the start was very off putting and although the overall theme of the book was original and exciting the plot continually fluctuated between fast-paced action and rather boring and confusing exposition. Towards the end the book picked up and I loved how subtly all the double-agents were hinted at. Therefore, the ending was frustrating as it was a very obvious reveal of a double agent.
    Katie

  4. Broken Sky is not my type of book so I wasn’t expecting to like it. However, there were many parts that I liked very much and I found the ending very gripping – my heart was racing for Amity’s safety – and don’t even get me started on the plot twist! Wow!!
    Although I began to empathise with her at the end, I found it hard to relate to Amity so didn’t really understand how she thought about things until half way through. I also felt that Amity’s lost fight and appeal was passed over too quickly. As soon as she lost the appeal, the situation was almost forgotten, even though there had been a big build up to it. Rather strange.
    I wish there had been more chapters on Kay and Gunnison because, by the end, I was actually beginning to quite like him… and I don’t think I should!

  5. I thought I wouldn’t enjoy Broken Sky but I was so wrong! I was drawn to the book as I read more of it and got deeper into the plot. The plot twists kept me hooked and at times I was on the edge of my seat. The end shocked me – it completely changed the story and overturned everything I’d been expecting! I liked the way the author revisited the prologue to tie the start and the end together and I can’t wait for the sequel!

  6. I’ve never read anything like ‘Broken Sky’. It was a really unique idea and executed extremely well. The characters were believable, likable and realistic. I thought the speed at which the plot unfolded was perfect and there were lots of little plot twists that kept me hooked. The first person perspective really helped the reader empathise with the main protagonists’ emotions and the series of flashbacks helped explain the background of the plot well. I loved this book but it’s clearly the prologue for a series. I want to know what happens next!

  7. I would say that I have mixed opinions on this book. At the beginning, I wasn’t really enjoying it as the storyline confused me sometimes, as it wasn’t always clear as to who was narrating, and I would often get slightly annoyed at the characters. However, I carried on reading it because I was told by my friends that if you persevered, it would get better. After reading three quarters of it, I still wasn’t enjoying as much as I have with other books, but the storyline and characters had definitely developed. It wasn’t until the end when I started to really enjoy it- to the point where I couldn’t put it down! I’m not sure if I would recommend it, but, if you do start reading it, it’s definitely worth reading all of it, because the end is the best part.
    Tara

Tell us what you thought...

