Unspeakable – Abbie Rushton

22103725
Megan doesn’t speak. She hasn’t spoken in months.

Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan’s head – things that are screaming to be heard – that she cannot, must not, let out.

Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can’t quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.

Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?

Other books
Consumed (April 2016)

Who else writes like….?
Sarah Crossan
Lisa Williamson
Jandy Nelson
David Levithan

13 thoughts on “Unspeakable – Abbie Rushton

  1. This book was alright. Megan is like me doesn’t speak at all but I’m different I have to speak when I am spoken to and that’s all but let’s get on about the book. This book was my all time favourite accept from Echo Boy by Matt Haig. I really enjoyed this book, if I was to rate it out of a number it would be 20 . I put 20 because it was joint first with another book, I can’t say which one. I would recommend it to any one who would love to take a leaf out of Megan’s story. It could help you when you have fallen out with people and you don’t want to talk to them. This book helped me a lot when I fell out with my friends but this book isn’t just about falling out with people it is about telling the truth about what you did and I hope Abbie Rushton writes another story like this because I would definitely read it. It definitely leaves you on a cliff hanger!

  2. Megan’s thoughts are portrayed well throughout the book; even though she can’t speak we can get to know her personality. Overall I found this book quite interesting although I would like to know more about Jasmine and her personality. For me I found the ending quite predictable. I liked the relationships between the characters and I felt that Hana’s death made me wonder from the start about what might have happened to her and why Megan felt guilty.
    Anum

    4 out of 5
    I enjoyed reading Unspeakable, I thought it was very intriguing and captivating. There was so much mystery around as to what actually happened. I also liked the fact that it was set in England, and not America, like most young adult novels are! I also thought that Megan was a very interesting main character and she is quite different to the main characters in books I have read. This is why I enjoyed it, because it was different compared to anything I have read before.
    Overall I thought Unspeakable was a very enjoyable story.
    Gurman

    I found that the book Unspeakable was alright, but was honestly not one of my highest ranked books. I can’t quite understand the main character, Megan, and I didn’t enjoy much how she became so infatuated with Jasmine so quickly. She even got all of her wishes and went on her first holiday abroad with her to Cyprus, and nothing bad happened. Of course there was the altercation with Luke earlier on but I didn’t find the characters very realistic in this way. Some things I thought to be a little irrelevant to the story, but I could see where the writer was coming from.
    Amal

    This really surprised me. I was really pleased when the two girls became romantically attached. I think it’s really important for current authors to break down the heteronormative barriers in our society, so when Rushton did this I was very happy. I also really enjoyed the story!
    Wulfrun

    I love that this book was written in a way that only the reader would understand what was happening in Megan’s thoughts. The fact that it was a silent narrator made the story a lot more interesting to read. It was an alluring story with every chapter having a different plot twist. I enjoyed this book a lot and I would recommend it to any reader.
    Hanya

  3. I thought that having a mute narrator was a brilliant idea as only her and the reader could know what she was really thinking. All the plot twists at the end, although slightly implausible, are unpredictable and you aren’t left on a massive cliff-hanger for an ending.
    Kirsten

    Unspeakable follows the series of events that had caused Megan to shut herself up and how, through Jasmine’s presence, she is able to break free from the ‘dam’ she has built upon herself. Although I found it easy to sympathise and even empathise with Megan, understanding how she felt and where she was coming from, the novel’s exploration of the very modern teenage ideas, such as drinking, body image and attraction, didn’t necessarily suit my reading tastes. However the novel was certainly enticing, as with every page turned, a sudden shock would scream at you in the face without any warning. I have to admit that the best part of the novel for me was when Megan found her true identity. I would recommend this novel to anyone, as I think it helps the reader to dig deeper, and like Megan they are able to rediscover themself. Along with this, I also think that teenage parents will benefit from reading this as it encourages parents to see things from their child’s point of view and it benefits both the parents and the children. The plot was interesting, and although it wasn’t suited to my taste, I really enjoyed reading the novel and I hope others will too.
    Ayesha

    I thought that the author of Unspeakable was very brave to write this book as it dealt with hard topics that some people really don’t like to read. I thought that this story was perfect for people who loved mysteries and romance in novels. I think that the true tale of the story was about a young girl growing up and about her finding out and embracing who she was. I loved the story because of its mysterious side and its violent danger that the heroine sometimes found herself in. I thought that the mystery of who was behind the notes was very obvious from before halfway through. It did make me a little frustrated at times that people just couldn’t work out who was behind the notes.
    Marla

    This is such a lovely story and I really enjoyed reading it. The main character Megan had a lot to say even though she could only say it in her head and I feel like she really carried the story. I found having a silent narrator intriguing and very different to the usual books I read. This book is slow to get going but I feel that like that is part of its charm. Unspeakable was a breath of fresh air and I would recommend reading it.
    Abbie

    This book was quite different from other books that I have read and I liked the originality of the plot- a girl that doesn’t speak. I liked the way that the story unravels and we find out more about the main character throughout the book. The story was fast paced and didn’t give too much away at a time and that is why I found it very difficult to put down once I started reading it. I liked the plot twist at the end and I loved the inclusion of letters to Hana between chapters, alongside Megan’s thoughts written in bold.
    This book is definitely worth reading.

    Amrita

    4.5/5
    I thought the control over what Rushton’s character, Megan, wanted the readers to know was very impressive. All the way throughout the book, we were gripped as to what would happen next as pieces of the puzzle were beginning to fit together. As more and more was revealed about Megan’s past, the more we wanted to read on. The story itself had so many layers, I found myself shocked at some points and other times I could predict some events. However I didn’t expect the book to end the way it did; it was a great climax!
    Rachel

    This book was not my type; the story took too long to get started for me and I couldn’t get into the book. I found the main girl, Megan, quite a grating character so couldn’t feel as sympathetic as I normally would. I understand it is a difficult thing to write about and the actually writing was excellent, just the story was not up my street. Jasmine however had a brilliant character image portrayed and I loved her character. The plot twist about the boy, Luke, was very exciting and there were elements that I did enjoy, the only problem was that they were only a few.
    2 out of 5 stars
    Kathryn

  4. Unspeakable is an incredibly powerful book that shows realistic progressions of relationships between friends and family. I found that I understood Megan straight away and I loved the way that I was kept waiting to find out a bit more about Hana. I really enjoyed this book and was gripped by the sense of mystery the whole way through.

  5. This book gripped me straight away because I was dying to know what happened to Hana and why Megan refused to speak and whether she ever would again. The little hints and clues kept me interested right upto the climax. I didn’t like the romance part and I didn’t think it was necessary to the plot at all.

  6. I’ve never read a book like this before. I thought Unspeakable was gripping and very good. The characters were totally believable and the suspense at the end was hard to bear. I liked the way we got to know Megan and Jasmine as they got to know each other. In the end their love for each other was almost inevitable.

  7. This book was cleverly plotted. I felt terribly sorry for the characters as I watched events play out to this or that certain ending but each time things changed and I was wrong. The actual ending was really dramatic and I enjoyed reading the same page over and over again because everything came together so suddenly, it was hard to take it all in.
    The characters were brought to life brilliantly and when one of them changed in an unexpected plot twist, it was totally believable. I thought the relationship between Megan and Jasmine was handled sensitively and developed realistically. The author untangled the events in Megan’s past at just the right speed to maintain my interest and I was disappointed it was all over so soon! For me, the ending was totally unexpected but it worked better than any outcome I could think of.

  8. I thought this was an amazing book and it’s probably going to be my favourite! The plot was very cleverly thought out and was so sad in places it made me cry. I’ve never read a book quite like this one.

  9. I very much enjoyed this book and thought it was a beautiful and compelling story. I thought it was clever how it was largely told through Megan’s thoughts because she chooses not to speak. It just shows how much a person thinks but doesn’t say. I was happy that the author didn’t build up the plot too much and kept it nice and simple, focussing on the central theme, yet still making it interesting. Although the relationships portrayed were not ones I could relate to, I felt like I understood all that Megan was going through because of the way it was written.
    I loved this book. It’s a beautiful tale which encourages us to treasure friendships and to keep close those we love.

  10. I really enjoyed reading this book. I found the idea of being able to turn someone’s life around like Jasmine did for Megan – just by loving her – so inspiring. I found the ending quite surprising and I loved the complicated plot because it built tension right to the end.

  11. I do not normally enjoy this style of book but this proved to be an exception. I was certainly interested in the majority of it, but at times I had my doubts. I feel it was unfair to portray Megan’s mum as an inadequate mother. She had Megan at a young age which must have put a lot of stress on her. Also, she must have given up a lot to raise Megan and I don’t feel that is made evident. I didn’t like the forest fire scene at all. I felt as if the author wanted to get them together at that moment and couldn’t really think of a more inventive way of doing it. I kind of wish that Megan’s first words had been to her mum, who’d been really patient with her for so long. Instead she spoke first to Jasmine, who she only met not that long ago. Overall, it was an okay book but not one of my favourites.

  12. I did not like Unspeakable. I read about a quarter of the way through and I just didn’t like it. I did not understand who Hana was and I thought it was really creepy, writing to a dead person. I don’t understand why the story started with saving the dog because that had absolutely nothing to do with the book although I do understand this part was to show that Megan wouldn’t talk even if someone’s life was at risk. However, I don’t think it was needed. I thought the book was well planned but it didn’t grasp my attention.

  13. Unspeakable touched on subjects that I’ve never read anything on before. This I think makes the book and the author special. Unspeakable took me through a whirlwind of feelings and Megan had so many stories in her life that fed into one. The plot drew me in and involved me from the start and the descriptions made me feel the heat of summer and the smell of the barbeque. This book is high up on my list.

Tell us what you thought...

