The Sin-Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury

21936988
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court. She’s the executioner. As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company. But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen. However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favour of a doomed love?

www.melindasalisbury.com

Other books 

The Sleeping Prince (Feb 2016)

Who else writes like….?

Justin Somper
Leigh Bardugo
Sarah J Maas
Marissa Meyer

14 thoughts on “The Sin-Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury

  1. i loved this book because it had me wrapped around it’s finger right from the start.It also had a lot of twists in it like when Twylla slept with her guard not once but two or three times and was caught by the queen. Also at the end in the epilogue she heard a knock on the door. Although it annoys me thinking that she would forgive him it is most likely because when twylla hears the knock she says she should feel hate and anger, but because she still loves him feels hope.

  2. This book was good and it really made me think about social status and prejudice. I was really drawn into the story, it was interesting how Twylla tried to figure out where her heart lay and what she really wanted. I would recommend this to people who like mystery and adventure.
    Marla

    I really like the dark fairy tale quality although it was a bit hard to follow at first. I liked Twylla’s character as she is very unique as she can kill people with her touch. I enjoyed this book because it was very original and different and I would highly recommend it.
    Anum

    Whilst an unusual read for me, I really like The Sin Eaters Daughter. Almost straight away, the story surprises you with one of its several twists and turns, and reveals that Twylla is not a princess living in a typical castle that looks beautiful but has a dark secret- no; she IS the dark secret and is engaged to the Prince already! She isn’t viewed as average or mediocre, but instead revered as a Goddess of sorts for her skill. It is good that she is seen as approachable by Lief, and yet a little sad that her fairytale ending with the prince was only a fated beginning. I really like her character as she is quite abrupt and abrasive, and says what she wants whilst simultaneously being afraid of the Queen (although everyone is). This was one of my favourite books.
    Amal

    This was a really interesting read; I loved the twist in the plot. I also enjoyed the detailed imagery throughout the book which built up a very vivid idea of the characters and setting so I felt really immersed in the story.
    Wulfrun

  3. Thorp RIOT Readers – This book caught me from the very start. It is suspenseful and chilling. Twylla has her destiny written out for her and has no choice in it at all. She hasn’t seen her family in four harvests. It has two major plot twists near the end which caught me by surprise!
    Chenise Year 9

  4. Thorp RIOT Readers – This dark, haunting yet touching story will stay with most readers forever once you have read it. Taken from her home to fulfil her destiny as Daunen Embodied the daughter of the Gods Twylla spends her life completely isolated because any person who touches her will die a painful death. When an outspoken new guard named Leif appears one harvest her life changes forever. Dark in places, light in others, The Sin Eater’s Daughter is a book not to be missed! I loved Twylla dearly and would recommend this to EVERYONE!!!
    Charlotte Year 7

  5. This book is so wonderful in so many ways. It is beautifully written, with gripping characters that I have grown fond of, along with an intriguing plot that is so full of twists that the suspense throughout the book made me nauseous at times (in a good way). However, I was left feeling a little confused during certain parts of the story, where I felt that certain points would have benefited if emotions, etc. were made clearer. I also appreciated the Harry Potter references in the Acknowledgments. Conclusion: go read this book!
    Hannah

    I thought this book was unpredictable and addictive and a really enjoyable read. Although the pace at the beginning was slow, I really liked the plot unfolding at the end and there was a good balance between the author resolving some issues but also leaving the reader guessing. The ending itself trails off a bit and you never really explore any of the other characters apart from Twylla.
    Kirsten

    Discovering the struggles and the wrath that comes alongside ruling a kingdom, seventeen harvests old Twylla is sent to the castle as a blessing to help the royal monarchy. This was a gripping book that I was reluctant to put down after reading a few chapters and the ending was certainly a well-kept secret that I doubt anyone could guess. At the start, when not all had been revealed, the queen’s character reminded me a lot of Lady Macbeth and Twylla as Macbeth as the queen seemed to manipulate her into killing. I really enjoyed reading this book, as the plot was carefully crafted to never reveal an overwhelming amount of information but also not irritating the reader with a lack of knowledge. I also enjoyed the way in which Twylla’s emotions were portrayed, and how she kept her composure even to the very end, although her innocence did infuriate me by the end of the book. However I didn’t quite appreciate the nudity of romance and I was slightly taken aback by these scenes as I didn’t see them coming. Overall I would recommend this book to all, although I do feel like this book is either one to forget or to absolutely treasure.
    Ayesha

    4 stars out of 5
    I thought that The Sin Eater’s Daughter was a great book. The plot was, at times, predictable but it still had twists that surprised me and things I wouldn’t have guessed. I liked the different and interesting characters and I instantly connected with the main character Twylla. Twylla wasn’t the usual type of protagonist, which made her more interesting and I was eager to see her succeed. The ending was definitely my favourite part as it was unique, unpredictable and left me wanting to know more
    Overall I enjoyed The Sin Eaters Daughter, I found it intriguing and a great story.
    Gurman

    I really liked the idea behind this book and I thought it was very original. I liked the main character – Twylla – and also the other characters like Lief and Merek as they were all very unique. I thought the many plot twists were extremely interesting and I found them very surprising and unexpected.
    I would definitely recommend this book!

    Amrita

    4/5
    The story centres the life of Twylla, a young girl with an extraordinary gift. People say that she is the ‘chosen one’, that she is the one blessed by the gods to lead the kingdom of Lormere into triumph, and that she would eliminate all acts of betrayal and treason affecting the peace. However, Twylla herself cannot look past her own ability to kill with one touch. When a new guard from a rival kingdom arrives, she is amazed as to how he can look past her terrifying traits. I really enjoyed this romantic fantasy novel.
    Rachel

    I loved this book! The ruthless queen was portrayed fantastically and the plot twist of Lief was shocking! I loved Twyllas character and at times felt very empathetic towards her. The whole story line was unique and the character descriptions throughout were brilliant. I was left wanting more at the end and I was hooked throughout. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone. When’s the next book out!?
    5 out of 5 stars
    Kathryn

  6. I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would and was fascinated by the whole concept of the story. I thought the plot was unique and intriguing but got frustrated that Twylla was so slow to work things out! I felt very bad for the prince as he seemed so fair and honourable and just wanted the best for everyone and Twylla let him down. I didn’t like Lief because of his impatience and selfishness. I couldn’t understand why she chose him over the prince. Overall, I thought this book was cleverly plotted and I did enjoy reading it.

  7. The Sin Eater’s Daughter was full of surprises and made me think how dependent people are on their beliefs. The Queen thinks that being cursed justifies the cruelty that she uses to get her own way and is a fascinating character. It’s easy to feel for Twylla as she is used by everyone who is important to her. I was very surprised by the ending and I hope that Twylla chooses the prince in the next book as he seems to love her for herself.

  8. I really enjoyed this riveting story. The plot is thrilling, the characters are interesting and the description is vivid. I felt really close to Twylla as she tried to work out who could be trusted.

  9. After a slow start, this book just got better and better. I found it easy to relate to Twylla and her situation and I loved how the story ended on a cliff-hanger.

  10. I thought this was an amazing story. Although it was purely fantasy, I found it very believable because of the strong characters and wonderful descriptions which made me feel I was there. I thought the plot was totally original and I loved it! I liked the ending because, whoever Twylla chose, I wouldn’t have been happy. I thought it was a very unexpected and clever ending and I’m really looking forward to seeing what happens next!

  11. I thought this book had a great plot and I loved all the detail of the political relationships between the various kingdoms that is so important to this story. I loved the setting which is a bit how I imagine our Middle Ages to have been. I also liked the love triangle and the major plot twist that I didn’t see coming.

  12. I thought this book was really good because the plot and setting were quite different from anything I’ve read before and the writing style was interesting and descriptive. Although the love triangle isn’t a very original plot element, the reader can’t help feel as tugged in two over who Twylla should choose. I thought the character of the Queen was brilliant. The way she kept control through intrigue and fear was totally believable and I didn’t think we needed the fantasy element of the Sleeping Prince. The only fly in the ointment was the totally unexpected, confusing and disappointing ending. I immediately did some research to see if there is going to be a sequel to explain it and I’m hugely relieved to find that there will!

  13. A book that gripped me right from the start and took me into a world I could believe in. The concept of a different world steeped in tradition like our own, with ceremonies to mark rites of passage, was a great idea. I found each character very believable, especially the queen who was a complicated, driven and convincing person.
    However, I felt that this book had one flaw. The queen has just told Twilla that everything she’s been brought up to believe in – the daunen embodied and killing people by touch – are inventions. This is a brilliant plot twist and totally in keeping with her scheming character. Then we’re asked to believe that the queen is going to raise a mythical beast, the sleeping prince, who has apparently been dead for 500 years. This disappointed me because I liked the realism of the queen deceiving a superstitious population and now it seems that we have to believe in fantasy after all.

  14. A gripping novel, this book had a bit of everything, including the scarier section about the sleeping prince. I also loved the sense of mystery and the way that the reader uncovered each deception alongside Twylla.

Tell us what you thought...

