The Accident Season – Moira Fowley-Doyle

23346358
It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

http://www.randomhouse.co.uk/authors/moira-fowley-doyle

Who else writes like…?
James Dawson
Rachel Ward
E Lockhart
Kevin Brooks

14 thoughts on “The Accident Season – Moira Fowley-Doyle

  1. I didn’t really get this book whatsoever, it was too far fetched. It was like reading Captain Underpants but better!

  2. This book was very strange and a bit boring and I found the twists rather predictable. I didn’t like the relationships between the characters as they were quite strange and weird. Overall I didn’t really enjoy this book because it was too strange and weird for my liking.
    Anum

    I really enjoyed this book; I especially loved the blurred line between reality and fantasy. The atmosphere gave a very mysterious and dramatic effect which I really liked.
    Wulfrun

    3 ½ out of 5
    I liked The Accident Season as it was quite an interesting story, however I felt the book moved at a slow pace and only really got to the interesting part at the end. The Accident Season was a good book, it just wasn’t exactly the book for me, not to say I disliked it though. I actually really enjoyed it and found it very intriguing as it had exciting twists and turns near the end.
    Overall I thought it was a great story, although the story moved quite slowly.
    Gurman

    Although an unusual topic to write about, I found that the book was inexplicably enjoyable. At first, I didn’t think that I would like the book due to the odd rituals and supernatural chanting in the beginning of the book. But, as the storyline developed, I found myself almost relating to Alice and Cara, although they are extremely different. The characters are very odd, but the writer manages to convey real life situations in a farfetched world quite well, like the differences between Sam and the Mother. I liked this book and I think it was a pretty good read, apart from how the end wasn’t really tied off that well.
    Amal

    This was very well written, however I couldn’t quite keep up with what was happening in the book. It was confusing at times, even the characters, but I began to like Alice slightly more as she seemed more “real” than the others, Elsie seemed a little less real and I wasn’t sure if she was or not. I’m not particularly keen on fantasy but the plot twists and excitement carried throughout the book kept me reading till the end. It was very gripping and spooky but it wasn’t my kind of read.
    Hanya

  3. Thorp RIOT Readers – Though the fantasy element of this book is overwhelming and complicated, I really enjoyed reading it. I loved the character Cara and her adorable relationship with Sam, how it progresses throughout the story. I liked the way that Bea and Alice have a really close bond which also builds as the story unfolds. It is a masterpiece of literature in my opinion and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I recommend this to everyone!
    Eva Year 7

  4. Thorp RIOT Readers – Though the fantasy element of the story is a little overly complicated and not always perfectly explained, I found the characters so well-developed which makes the story so thrilling and mysterious.
    Poppy Year 7

  5. I really liked this book although the whole story left me slightly confused! The book deals with some very hard topics in an understandable but still shocking way. I loved the constant battle in my mind over whether Elise was real or not, and she truly brought the story together. I would recommend this book to teenagers 13+. Accident Season was an enjoyable read although or maybe because I was so confused!
    Abbie

    Following Cara’s thirst for wanting to know the truth that’s hidden behind endless secrets, this novel contains a mixture of elements of catharsis, confusion, and supernatural ideas. I enjoyed reading this spine-tingling novel as it was a new experience for me considering that I don’t tend to read many novels of this genre. I particularly liked the way that it was written following a very descriptive route that made it easier for the reader to see things from Cara’s point of view. However, at times I struggled to follow the novel’s highly intense events that seem to create awkward tangents and to follow the character’s relationships to each other. It was a novel that I was reluctant to put down and it has certainly left a mark on me, since when I’m walking down a street, or maybe at home alone, I always find myself checking if anyone’s behind me, a position that Cara often finds herself in, and although I don’t believe in ghosts, this novel seems to have not completely, but slightly, swayed my certainty. I would recommend this novel to people that enjoy the magical realism genre and also to people who enjoy reading about mysteries as this novel creates a new angle to explore.
    Ayesha

    4 stars out of 5
    I really enjoyed reading The Accident Season- it was a very mysterious book. All the characters were very interesting and unique, with their own personalities and secrets. I liked the concept of the accident season and I found the story very entertaining. The only thing which could have been improved was the plot twists at the end as I found them quite predictable but overall I would definitely recommend this book!

    Amrita

    I found that The Accident Season was a book that left a lot undecided. Some people like this in a book as it lets you use your imagination more freely; I don’t mind if a book lets you use your imagination freely, as long as the plot is all wrapped up nicely by the end. Sadly I found that this was not the case in Accident Season and a lot of loose strings were left untied. Some parts of the book were amazing and clearly well thought through. I would recommend this book to people who like a thought provoking story that can leave you a bit confused or bemused.

    Marla

    I thought Accident Season was very unique, creative and gothic. I found some of the plot was either confusing or predictable however I liked the way the book was haunting and there were blurred lines between reality and what was a metaphor or imagination or both. Although, for some of it, the pace was slow, the story unfolded at the end but still left some questions unanswered.
    Kirsten

    3/5
    The premise and plot of this novel are brilliant, unusual and haunting. But I did think that the first few sections of the book were very slow paced and slightly tedious and unnecessary. I also found that most of the characters were very unrealistic and hard to respond to; only Alice felt three dimensional and actually likeable. However, the last section of the book was creepy, engaging and exciting with twists and turns; this turned the whole book around for me. Despite the beginning, it was an enjoyable read.
    Rachel

    I found this book very confusing form start to finish and that made it difficult for me to enjoy, but, that being said, the plot twists and characters’ feelings throughout kept me reading the book with a strong desire to find out what happens next and the continuing reference to a magical land of fairies was surprisingly new and enjoyable. Overall, the book was excellently written, but not quite my taste.
    3 out of 5 stars.
    Kathryn

  6. This book used some very beautiful language but I felt it was a bit dragged out. I thought that it didn’t explain some things in enough detail, for example, the last part about Elsie and why the accident season happens, also about the relationships Nick and Alice and Christopher and Alice. Overall though, it was an original story with some fascinating characters.

  7. I found this book confusing and the ideas hard to keep up with. I struggled to remember half the things that had happened. I was also bothered by the addition of bits of what I think were fantasy in a story that seemed to be set in real life.

  8. This was a gripping story and I connected with all the main characters and shared their concerns. I couldn’t stop reading when I discovered that Elsie was in all Cara’s photos because I wanted to know why. Elsie is a really interesting character. I had lots of questions about the accident season: why it happened, why it only happened to Cara’s family and whether it would stop. I was totally surprised by the ending but I really enjoyed the book.

  9. I thought this book was very good! It was fast-paced, creepy and gripping and I enjoyed the twisted plot lines and different love interests. I was bowled over by the idea of the secrets booth and all the possibilities that it provided and I loved the descriptions of the characters in their masquerade costumes. I could easily believe in the main character, Cara, and her world and the ending tied up all the loose ends in my mind.

  10. I thought that The Accident Season was cleverly plotted. The descriptions of Alice, Cara, Sam and Bea as wood sprite, mermaid etc. were really good and the way their inner characters fought against the secrets and the accident season then switched to real life was cleverly executed. Similarly, the inclusion of Bea’s tarot cards and the secrets booth added to the tension and helped to link bits of the action.

    I thought this book was going to turn out to be a psychological thriller but the departures into fantasy confused me and I wasn’t sure in the end what was real and what wasn’t. Throughout the story I felt that there was some mysterious, other-worldly presence directing the accident season through the minds of the characters and that everything that happened was a reaction to what the characters considered to be their fate. I think the relationship between the two fathers was pivotal and I’m puzzled that more wasn’t made of this but I was satisfied by the ending.

  11. The Accident Season was an interesting and compelling story centred on Cara, and her life with her mother, ex-stepbrother Sam and sister Alice. At the beginning, we find out about the ‘Accident Season’, which is a period of time every year when the family is involved in lots of freaky accidents.
    I thought I understood what was happening upto this point but then other things started happening which confused me quite a lot. For a first, I didn’t understand if Sam was a relative or not until later on in the story when it became clear. Later, I thought that Cara and Bea were in a relationship after they kissed, until Cara later explained that it was ‘just a friends’ thing’. Things got more complicated when Cara found out that Alice was in an abusive relationship with Nick. I also didn’t understand why they held a party with people they hardly knew or what exactly Cara, Sam and Bea’s relationship was with everyone there. Did they know them only through Alice? I got even more confused when a character known as Elsie popped up with increasing frequency and in the end I didn’t understand whether or not she was real. I found it difficult to believe she was just an ‘old friend’ that Cara had forgotten about. Lastly, for teens still in High School I found the constant drinking and smoking and lack of reference to homework, assessments and exams very unrealistic.

  12. I did not enjoy this book because I didn’t like the confusing mix of reality and fantasy. I felt there was no moral to the story and there was no point in writing it because of that.

  13. At the start of the book I was a bit unsure about it as I felt that a lot of things were introduced much too quickly for my liking. However, as I continued reading, I found myself getting into the book more and more. The way Moira described certain events in the book was incredible. I thought that the plot was well structured and I felt it had a clear direction, despite diving off into side plots from time to time.
    I also liked the characters very much, especially the relationship between Sam and Cara. I particularly liked the idea of the secret box in the library for students to get rid of their troubles. I could imagine how writing them down anonymously so people could read them without ever knowing who wrote them could be very stress relieving. I enjoyed this book very much and I believe it to be one of my favourites.

  14. Accident Season was a very confusing book and towards the end I found I couldn’t really understand the difference between fantasy and reality. At the start I thought the book was a psychological novel but towards the end I found the lines of fantasy and reality being blurred. I couldn’t quite decide if this book was fantasy or reality. I also found it very hard to believe that these particular teenagers drank so excessively; I felt it didn’t really fit their personalities and lives.

Tell us what you thought...

