Echo Boy – Matt Haig

19628757
Audrey’s father taught her that to stay human in the modern world, she had to build a moat around herself; a moat of books and music, philosophy and dreams. A moat that makes Audrey different from the echoes: sophisticated, emotionless machines, built to resemble humans and to work for human masters.

Daniel is an echo – but he’s not like the others. He feels a connection with Audrey; a feeling Daniel knows he was never designed to have, and cannot explain. And when Audrey is placed in terrible danger, he’s determined to save her.

ECHO BOY is a powerful story about love, loss and what makes us truly human.

http://www.matthaig.com/

Other books 
The Radleys
The Humans

Who else writes like….?
Pittacus Lore
Ally Condie
James Dashner
Scott Westerfeld
Matt Whyman

12 thoughts on “Echo Boy – Matt Haig

  1. At the story’s centre is Audrey, whose father has taught her that to stay human in the modern world she has to build a moat around herself; a moat of books and music, philosophy and dreams. Into her world comes Daniel, an Enhanced Computerized Humanoid Organism (Echo), who has feelings for Audrey, feelings he was not designed to have and cannot explain. When Audrey is placed in terrible danger, he’s determined to save her.
    Before reading Echo Boy I realised something that I found very interesting. I read this book because when you read from the first page to the last it was about making new friends with an echo and how it helps the character get through what she has experienced. If it wasn’t for her uncle she would have got killed by the bad echo that her parents took into their home. She would have gone the same way as her family did.
    I loved reading this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves Matt Haig. Also I would give this book a 10/10 rating because it is the best book in the world.
    A book like this should be worth 5 stars or more, it is the best book in the world. You never know what is coming next. When I read it, I couldn’t put it down it was so good. Also if this book wasn’t a book I wouldn’t know what I would do without it, this book was totally utterly amazing. Life wouldn’t be the same if this book wasn’t written by the amazing Matt Haig. He is one amazing writer! How can people think of stuff like this? It’s just amazing how some people can write like this.

  2. I loved this book, it was one of the best books out of them all. I really enjoyed it. This book shows people that you’re not alone wherever you go. This is the best science-fiction book in the entire universe. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Science fiction novels

  3. I really enjoyed the start of the book and how it was set in the future but as I read further into it I started losing interest in it. I liked the characters and the character’s backgrounds but overall this book wasn’t my cup of tea.
    Anum

    Echo boy was a clear attempt at a stereotypical novel from the future about two different worlds colliding. Audrey was a typical heroine, as she of course was ‘above’ the Echoes with her human means of emotion and empathy. Daniel was a very typical odd-one-out amongst the other Echo robots, and instead could feel and fell for Audrey, which led to a somehow mutual sort of love between the two which I don’t think is at all natural with people- to reciprocate love all the time, that is. I am a little blasé about the book, due to its lack of twists or surprises. This was not one of my highest ranked books.
    Amal

    I don’t read much sci-fi bit I really got into this future setting. I was really impressed by the development of the idea of the Echoes, the whole concept seems so thought out which just makes the story easier to become immersed in. I really, really enjoyed reading it.
    Wulfrun

    Seeing as this book was set in 2115 and referred to 2015 as the olden days I thought I would find it hard to relate to the characters. However I learned to like Audrey throughout the book as her interests were similar to mine, Daniel I couldn’t relate to because he was very analytical about everything but I didn’t find it as enjoyable as the other books because I couldn’t really get into the book. It is a great read but not my kind of book.
    Hanya

  4. 3.5/5 stars
    The author says that Echo Boy isn’t based in a post-apocalyptic world; “It’s just a world like ours. Ours is full of problems but also hope.” I think this is true and the author explores a lot of people’s fears of the future like artificial intelligence. I really liked the questions the book asked and the ideas it gave about “what it is to be human” and I also liked how the author explored the minds of the two narrators. However, some of the ideas of the future I found a bit clichéd (e.g. holophones, holomovies, holovisions) and the plot was predictable in some places. Overall I think that it is well written and though provoking, but not many original ideas.
    Kirsten

    4 stars out of 5

    I enjoyed reading Echo Boy as I really liked the idea about artificial intelligence in the future. I liked all the futuristic technology: echoes, immersion pods, magcars and I feel that Matt Haig really set the scene well by showing us his ideas about the future. The notion of technology taking over was apparent from the beginning and it stirred up many questions about how things could go wrong due to us becoming lazy as a race.

    Haig’s idea of showing us what it truly means to be human was wonderfully described throughout the book – that life is about experiencing joy and pain and perfection doesn’t need to exist. Audrey’s personality grew gradually and I liked the way the characters seemed to build up in nature. The only thing which I would say could have been done better was the ending and I feel it could have been a bit stronger. But overall, I would highly recommend this book to everyone!

    Amrita

    Set 100 years in the future, in 2115, this story follows gadgets that exist beyond our imagination including: leviboards, magcars, neuropads, holograms, holophones, mind-wires, pods, positrons, info-lenses, and… Echos. This action-packed science-fiction has climax-packed pages that will keep you hooked till the very end with all of its twists and turns. At first, I found it hard to picture myself in this technology-thriving world, where artificial intelligence such as Echos were threatening the need for human intellect and humans were on the brink of extinction. But after reading a few pages of non-stop action novel, I was reluctant to put it down. I whole-heartedly agree with the writer’s image of the tech-invaded world that we will live in, as although it may seem like we are not at that stage, I think that these ideas are not that far from our reach. I recommend this to all teens whether or not you enjoy sci-fi. In my case, I generally don’t enjoy that genre, but this novel is a whole lot more than just one genre, it is a romantic adventure, in which you begin to question whether you know yourself as well as you really think you do.
    Ayesha

    Echo Boy is really something. Simply a great read. It really makes you think about what the future will hold, whether that be good or bad – who knows? Not only is it a satisfying read, but I also really loved the characters. Primarily Audrey, who I seem to have identified with on some kind of personal level; most likely because of our joint love of philosophy, books and music. I also love how inquisitive Haig has made Daniel, a refreshingly stark contrast to everyone else in the book, and how well he portrayed power through the characters Alex and Lago (even if it is somewhat psychotic). I don’t believe that there is anything negative for me to critique. It is, in the end, a wonderful book.
    Hannah

    At the beginning of Echo Boy I was hanging onto every word because I found the story enchanting yet strangely unreal. The plot was wonderful and I thought the story was going to be clear yet creative and imaginative. As I carried on reading the story though, I found it complicated and annoying as the story just wouldn’t get to the point. I felt as though the author had started writing the story with a clear plan of where the story was going; but by the end, I thought the author was a bit bored and had decided that halfway through he would just write a story that fitted with the theme he had been using so far. I’m sure a lot of people would love this kind of story but it definitely wasn’t my kind of story.

    Marla

    4 stars out of 5
    I thought Echo Boy had an interesting storyline and it was different to the usual dystopian young adult books, like The Hunger Games and Divergent, which have similar plots. I loved the characters and grew great connections to them. I also liked the fact that it didn’t end on a cliff hanger, yet it still left you wanting to know more about what would happen next.
    However I found that the descriptions of future technology devices a bit boring and they occurred quite often, I would have preferred if he didn’t go into so much detail about them.
    Overall I enjoyed Echo Boy, I found it a gripping read, not just because you want to know what happened next but also discovering why everything else has happened.
    Gurman

    2.5/5
    I thought the main concept of the story was very interesting. It is well written and well-paced, with a convincing storyline and credible characters – both human and non-human. However, I felt that the character development and the world building could have been more perfected as I felt that it was hard to react towards the characters and their individual story lines. Overall, it was a good read.
    Rachel
    A really great book! The main character, Audrey, annoyed me to begin with but I quickly learned to like her. I found the descriptions a little bit stereotypical on the futuristic side of things, but despite that, the images the author’s words created were believable and enjoyable. I loved the logical explanation for Echo boy himself, Daniel’s, emotions. I particularly loved the ending as it left a certain mystery, and room for me to imagine their future life (or to read a sequel!).
    4 out of 5 stars
    Kathryn

  5. I thought Echo Boy was powerful and thrilling. I found it easy to believe in the world that Matt Haig described and I was gripped by the idea of nearly human Echo servants. My opinions of the central characters kept changing as I got to know them, I was totally absorbed by the plot and I was sure this would be my favourite book……..until the very last chapter. I wanted so much to find out why Alex hated his brother and what happens to Audrey and Daniel. A sequel, please!

  6. I really enjoyed the fast pace of this book and towards the end, it was hard to put down. However, I found the last few pages a bit disappointing because I never found out what caused one brother to murder the other. I find it hard to believe it was just their different attitudes to robots. I liked the futuristic but totally believable setting and the realistic differences of opinion about technology and the role of robots in society.

  7. I found Echo Boy interesting but at times a bit confusing and somewhat unbelievable. I liked the plot twists and the way Matt Haig kept us guessing right up to the end.

  8. I thought Echo Boy was a great adventure into the future and very realistic, despite being a sci-fi. I am not a great fan of sci-fi but I very much enjoyed this book. There were times when Daniel seemed almost completely human and I found this very compelling. I really enjoyed this book and, although I didn’t dislike the ending, it would be nice to have a sequel!

  9. This is one of the best futuristic books I have ever read. All the modern technology was really well imagined and described and the Echoes were a really unique idea to come up with. The descriptions showing the contrast between Daniel, who could experience pain and emotion, and the other Echoes were really convincing and helped show how different he was. The shift of Uncle Alex’s personality from caring uncle to cruel businessman happened at the right speed for it to be realistic. All the small things like ‘people in 2015 hardly lived till they were a hundred’ were really amusing and helped to create the image of just how advanced Audrey’s world is. Having a colony on the moon was a good touch but I would like to have had more explanation about how it’s possible for people to live there. I like the details that helped make this world so believable. For example, the Echoes having an origin mark which reminds us that they’re just another tool.
    I was quite satisfied by the ending as I felt everything was resolved except for what happened to Alex Castle and Castle Industries but I don’t feel that was very important. A sequel would be nice to clear up what happened on earth and how Audrey and Daniel survive on the moon.

  10. I loved reading Echo Boy because I liked how it was set in the future. I think that some of the technology that the author invented might inspire future engineers to create something similar, which I think is quite amazing, actually! Well, the positive inventions, anyway!
    The only part that disappointed me was the ending. I wish we’d been told what actually happened to the central characters once they arrived on the Moon. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book.

  11. This book captivated my heart; it portrayed love and loss in a way that I could relate to. The story made me really think about our dependence on technology, what it was to be human and that it isn’t always a good thing that technology is advancing. It showed me what life might be like in the future and made me think that it could be good. The plot was well structured – though the ending left some of my questions unanswered – and the descriptions helped me feel as though I was actually there.
    On the front cover there is a quote: “Matt Haig uses words like a tin opener. We are the tin.” This quote sums the book up for me and why I think it’s a real contender.

  12. This is one of the best science-fiction novels I have read! I did, however, find all the new gadgets hard to understand and I think that a glossary of the new technical terminology would have been helpful. It was cleverly written and I think there should be a sequel. If there was, I’d definitely read it.

Tell us what you thought...

