A Little in Love – Susan Fletcher

20738167
As a young child Eponine never knew kindness, except once from her family’s kitchen slave, Cosette. When at sixteen the girls’ paths cross again and their circumstances are reversed, Eponine must decide what that friendship is worth, even though they’ve both fallen for the same boy. In the end, Eponine will sacrifice everything to keep true love alive.

http://www.chickenhousebooks.com/books/a-little-in-love/

http://www.chickenhousebooks.com/authors/susan-fletcher/

Who else writes like…?
Amy Plum
Stephanie Perkins
William Hussey
Mary Hooper

15 thoughts on “A Little in Love – Susan Fletcher

  1. This book was awesome. I never thought that I would enjoy but I really loved it. In my opinion I would recommend it to anyone who is into romantic stuff like I am.

  2. 3/5 stars
    I’ve never seen Les Miserables but you didn’t need to, to understand this book. I really enjoyed this book even though it made me feel very sad and depressed for Eponine’s hard and unfortunate life. I went into this book expecting it to be a romance novel but was very surprised when Eponine selflessly helped the boy she loved be with her old childhood friend. I have never read anything quite like this and although I don’t think I would again as it made me so upset but it was truly a unique read that highlights the issues of unrequited love and the harsh lives people lived during the French resolution. This book has definitely inspired me to see the movie Les Miserables, to learn more about Eponine’s story. I enjoyed reading this book although it made me so sad!
    Abbie

    This book was quite depressing, but it was very good. Usually I don’t enjoy sad books: I was very surprised then, when after finishing the book, I realised I had enjoyed it enormously. You should read this book if you like/don’t mind being upset about a character in a book.
    Marla

    I’m not normally into romance books but I enjoyed this one. I especially liked the strange relationship between Eponine and her family, and how Eponine was driven by her need of love and approval. The book clearly conveys the comparison between Azelma and Eponine, and how Azelma stole for her father’s approval but had no desire for love where as Eponine hated stealing but had a strong desire for love. It’s interesting how Azelma and Eponine grew up in the same environment but turned out completely different. I liked the relationship between Cossette and Eponine and how Cossette forgave Eponine after the way she was treated. I much preferred reading about the relationships between Eponine and her family and Cossette than reading about the romance between Eponine and Marius although it was a sweet story which pulled on my heart strings.
    Anum

    I thought that A Little in Love was a fantastic story! I hugely enjoyed reading more about Eponine’s life, even if I did know how it would end for her. It was also really interesting to read about several other characters from Les Miserables, rather than just Eponine. It was interesting to see how they were portrayed in Susan Fletcher’s version, compared to the original book, film or musical. This book made me sad and happy all at the same time!
    Overall I thought it was amazing and it was hard to put it down!
    Gurman

    This was a very nice accompaniment to the Les Mis we know and love. I enjoyed the attention to detail, especially when describing the characters; provoking all the desired emotions towards the different characters from the readers.
    Wulfrun

    5 out of 5

    I really loved this book and I thought it was extremely well written! It was very emotional and it was very interesting to read. I felt attached to all of the characters and I loved the way the main character -Eponine- was portrayed. She was very hopeful and engaging in an otherwise dark and tragic story. I also liked the structure of the book and the pace of it. I really like Les Misérables as well and I was really excited to read this book.
    Overall, I would definitely recommend this book!

    Amrita

    A Little in Love is an interesting Book. Although I have never seen the musical (hopefully one day) and I did find some editorial mistakes, it was a pleasant read. It must have been as it made me cry. Eponine is such a wonderful character, and the way that she is portrayed in the book is perfect; some of the things she does and suffers through I could never do. Fletcher certainly captured her expressive and passionate nature, too. It’s a story about love and loss, joy and sadness, friendship and pain, life and death, but more importantly it’s about kindness; and that’s a good message to write about. I would recommend this book to lovers of the musical, or anyone looking for a good, somewhat sad, read to nestle into.
    Hannah

    A very pleasurable read. I would not say the most enthralling or gripping of novels, but enjoyable all the same. This was a book about romance, and I am not a big romantic, but I loved how the true sense of the book was that Marius, her brother, and Cosette the kitchen maid were the true loves and friendships that she needed. It was a dramatic tale, especially the part where she is honest about how she will die in Rue de la Chanvrerie but reminisces and has an epiphany almost, and you know everything will be okay. A truly lovely story about love and loss.
    Amal

    This book was possibly my favourite of them all and I took it everywhere to finish it because I felt as if I connected with Eponine and how she felt throughout the book. I loved the contrast between how her parents raised her from a child to be insincere and a thief but as she matured and grew older she realised that being kindhearted and honest was the only way she could find happiness or love. Eponine’s relationship with Cosette and Marius were so interesting but I wished the author could have taken her relationship with Marius further. The ending was very emotional and heartfelt but it fit in very well with the storyline I could happily re-read this book over again.
    Hanya

  3. 3/5 stars
    I’ve never seen Les Miserables but you didn’t need to, to understand this book. I really enjoyed this book even though it made me feel very sad and depressed for Eponine’s hard and unfortunate life. I went into this book expecting it to be a romance novel but was very surprised when Eponine selflessly helped the boy she loved be with her old childhood friend. I have never read anything quite like this and although I don’t think I would again as it made me so upset but it was truly a unique read that highlights the issues of unrequited love and the harsh lives people lived during the French resolution. This book has definitely inspired me to see the movie Les Miserables, to learn more about Eponine’s story. I enjoyed reading this book although it made me so sad!
    Abbie

    This book was quite depressing, but it was very good. Usually I don’t enjoy sad books: I was very surprised then, when after finishing the book, I realised I had enjoyed it enormously. You should read this book if you like/don’t mind being upset about a character in a book.
    Marla

    I’m not normally into romance books but I enjoyed this one. I especially liked the strange relationship between Eponine and her family, and how Eponine was driven by her need of love and approval. The book clearly conveys the comparison between Azelma and Eponine, and how Azelma stole for her father’s approval but had no desire for love where as Eponine hated stealing but had a strong desire for love. It’s interesting how Azelma and Eponine grew up in the same environment but turned out completely different. I liked the relationship between Cossette and Eponine and how Cossette forgave Eponine after the way she was treated. I much preferred reading about the relationships between Eponine and her family and Cossette than reading about the romance between Eponine and Marius although it was a sweet story which pulled on my heart strings.
    Anum

    I thought that A Little in Love was a fantastic story! I hugely enjoyed reading more about Eponine’s life, even if I did know how it would end for her. It was also really interesting to read about several other characters from Les Miserables, rather than just Eponine. It was interesting to see how they were portrayed in Susan Fletcher’s version, compared to the original book, film or musical. This book made me sad and happy all at the same time!
    Overall I thought it was amazing and it was hard to put it down!
    Gurman

    This was a very nice accompaniment to the Les Mis we know and love. I enjoyed the attention to detail, especially when describing the characters; provoking all the desired emotions towards the different characters from the readers.
    Wulfrun

    5 out of 5
    I really loved this book and I thought it was extremely well written! It was very emotional and it was very interesting to read. I felt attached to all of the characters and I loved the way the main character -Eponine- was portrayed. She was very hopeful and engaging in an otherwise dark and tragic story. I also liked the structure of the book and the pace of it. I really like Les Misérables as well and I was really excited to read this book.
    Overall, I would definitely recommend this book!
    Amrita

    A Little in Love is an interesting Book. Although I have never seen the musical (hopefully one day) and I did find some editorial mistakes, it was a pleasant read. It must have been as it made me cry. Eponine is such a wonderful character, and the way that she is portrayed in the book is perfect; some of the things she does and suffers through I could never do. Fletcher certainly captured her expressive and passionate nature, too. It’s a story about love and loss, joy and sadness, friendship and pain, life and death, but more importantly it’s about kindness; and that’s a good message to write about. I would recommend this book to lovers of the musical, or anyone looking for a good, somewhat sad, read to nestle into.
    Hannah

    A very pleasurable read. I would not say the most enthralling or gripping of novels, but enjoyable all the same. This was a book about romance, and I am not a big romantic, but I loved how the true sense of the book was that Marius, her brother, and Cosette the kitchen maid were the true loves and friendships that she needed. It was a dramatic tale, especially the part where she is honest about how she will die in Rue de la Chanvrerie but reminisces and has an epiphany almost, and you know everything will be okay. A truly lovely story about love and loss.
    Amal

  4. Thorp RIOT Readers – A Beautiful, romantic tale which will be one of my favourites for years to come. When Eponine’s Father kills a bishop in her home town of Monterfeil, her world changes forever. But when she meets her old servant-turned rich friend Cosette and her lover Marius she is determined to make them both happy. Even if it costs her her life. A gorgeous and haunting story, A Little in Love might possibly be my favourite book this year and I think Susan Fletcher is my new author hero!
    Charlotte Year 7

  5. Thorp RIOT Readers – This book is gripping, complex and fabulously light-hearted for a murder mystery. It features the rebellious but insanely intelligent Garvie Smith who is an actual genius (according to his IQ) but his actions suggest otherwise. Smoking that “funny stuff” and drinking in the park at 2.30 on a Tuesday afternoon instead of sitting in his Geography lesson. However after the mysterious murder of his ex-girlfriend, Garvie finally decides to apply himself to something, all-be-it classed as police interference…This story thoroughly enwraps the reader in the lattice of the many plot twists, revelations and hidden secrets. Garvie is a character whom most people place ultimate mistrust but his sarcasm and quick wit just tops off this exciting and gripping story.
    Robyn Year 10

  6. 5/5
    I thought this book was very emotionally draining. It was poetically written and had a really interesting plot. Having seen Les Miserables I knew what would happen in the end, but seeing it from a different perspective was like a whole new story and I felt like I got really attached to Eponine.
    Kirsten

    Inspired by the well-known Les Misérables set in the romantic city of Paris in 1832, the tale follows the heart-warming journey of Eponine, a truly sweet soul, as you find out through the journey of her life, taught only to steal, aching for a reward of true love. She is torn apart by confusion, uncertain of what is right and wrong, morally and in her family’s eyes, but what she honestly seeks is the feeling of being wanted for who she is and to be loved. Although romance is not my preferred genre, I especially enjoyed reading this novel, as it was not written in the stereotypical ‘soppy’ way that I was expecting, but instead made my eyes misty. I unquestionably admire Eponine and her determined will to sacrifice what means most to her in order to rectify her mistakes. I recommend this to all ages, young and old, whether you have read or seen Les Misérables or not, and especially to girls as this is not just a novel about love but about growing up and its experiences and consequences and the novel changes your view of the world around you. The novel had me gripped and after reading only a few pages I was hooked and reluctant to put it down.
    Ayesha

    4/5
    A tragic tale set in Paris 1832 during the French Revolution, young Eponine lives an orphan life born to hateful and cruel parents. All she has ever known is unhappiness and want. Forced to steal and deceive to survive, Eponine’s life changes when Cosette arrive. Eponine’s parents treat Cosette like she is worth nothing, they clothe her in cheap rags and treat her like a slave. When they get a chance to meet again they lead contrasting lives but share one thing in common; they love the same man. Although this story had an incredibly emotional and sad climax, the whole book was very enjoyable to read. The overall pace was very well thought out and I thought that all the characters were brought across to the readers very well. This is an excellent backstory to the incredible ‘Les Misérables’, I hope to read more from Susan Fletcher!
    Rachel

    I love Les Miserables and I thought this book was an excellent take on Eponine’s life. Although I would have liked her to have built a better friendship with Marius, I still liked the way it turned out – not her death of course, but the literary skills. I was nearly in tears at the end when she died, even though I knew it was coming, the description was just so beautiful and heart rendering. This book was wonderful to read the whole way through and I am especially pleased that it fit in with the original Les Miserables.
    4.5 out of 5 stars.
    Kathryn

  7. This is a stunning book that displays a range of beautiful relationships and emotions. It makes you feel differently about the characters as you progress through the book, making it feel as if you are really there. I would happily read this book again.

  8. I loved reading this book as I was gripped by the plot and absorbed by the characters, even those I didn’t like. All the characters were changed in believable ways by events and this added to my enjoyment of the story. The end was satisfying but sad and this also was realistic. I really enjoyed this book.

  9. I liked this book because I learned quite a lot of interesting history whilst I was reading it. The inclusion of French phrases added authenticity and the French names contributed to the characters’ personalities. I liked the stylistic devices – such as Eponine talking to the stars throughout the story – used to show how quickly Eponine was growing up. The writing style was simple and direct and in keeping with a story narrated by a simple country girl but I’d have liked the story to be longer. I think the ambiguous title doesn’t do this book justice and might put off potential readers as this isn’t a fluffy love story just for girls. I felt a little cheated by the end as I’d hoped there would be a way out for Eponine but, overall, I did think this was a good book.

  10. I found this story interesting and satisfying. The central characters were very convincing and it was easy to picture the scenes.

  11. I was drawn into this story straight away because I wanted to know why someone was dying before I’d found out who they were. I haven’t read Les Miserables so I don’t know if this was just a re write of the original but I thought it was beautifully written. The pages almost turned themselves. My only concern was when Eponine resolved to do no more bad deeds. I can’t help thinking that someone brought up like she was and at this period in history would always be ruthless and do anything to stay alive. This wouldn’t have made such a romantic story though! Overall, I loved this book.

  12. I thought this book was fast-paced and gripping and I really enjoyed it! I couldn’t help caring about the characters and willing them to get what the deserved. I felt sorry for Eponine, growing up unvalued except for what she could steal and trapped by her circumstances. By the end of the book, I admired and envied her courage and persistence. I was glad that everything turned out well for Cosette in the end and I fell in love with Marius’s kindness and decency, which contrasted strongly with the behaviour of Eponine’s parents. This is a great love story!

  13. I really enjoyed this book although romance isn’t my preferred genre. It was so beautifully written that I felt I was there and I was soon pulled into the story of Eponine’s life. I quickly forgot that she was going to die in the end as I became engrossed in her miserable day to day life at the inn. It was desperately sad that Eponine could never live her dreams but satisfying that she ended her life in the arms of the man she loved. This story made me think that, even in the worst situations, good things can come out.

  14. A Little in Love really held my interest with the descriptions of Eponine’s thoughts and feelings and the places that she visited. I could imagine the streets and the sights, smells and sounds. I also liked the old man’s house and his garden full of flowers. I think this is a very enjoyable book and one of my favourites.

  15. This book showed me the stupid things love can make us do. The descriptions were terrific making me feel as though I was standing in the streets. I could smell the smells of the Gorbeau tenements and see the streets as Eponine walks through them. The end with Cosette and Eponine made me think about the unfairness and fragility of life. This book is not my favourite but it’s most definitely near the top.

Tell us what you thought...

