Say Her Name by James Dawson

Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts.

url

A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of ‘Bloody Mary’: say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear…But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it? Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror…five days…but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before…
Other books by the author
Hollow Pike
Cruel Summer
This Book Is Gay
Being a Boy

Author Website
http://www.jamesdawsonbooks.com/

5 Questions with James Dawson
http://www.welovethisbook.com/features/ya-book-prize-5-questions-james-dawson

Say Her Name videos

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC30XgjseWtqLkuNA3zI0PXQ

If you loved this, why not try…
The Name of the Star – Maureen Johnson
Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – Holly Black
The Diviners – Libba Bray
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

19 thoughts on “Say Her Name by James Dawson

  1. I thought this was a really good book because the author created lots of tension and suspense. I liked the plot which was full of action and the Halloween setting.

  2. I really enjoyed this book! I found it to be a gripping book that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire way through, and the characters were so easy to connect with and understand their thoughts and feelings. It kept suspense throughout and was very close to being my favourite out of all the books.

  3. I absolutely loved this book. Granted I couldn’t make it past chapter 3 because I was terrified. I honestly think that James Dawson should follow up with a sequel or something similar. Very entertaining book. 10/10

    Hope this one wins. 😛

  4. Mueerah says:
    At first I thought I would be really freaked out by this book and to be honest I half was. I liked how James Dawson adapted a myth into a story book and my favourite character was definitely Caine.

    Olivia says:
    Normally I am not a fan of scary books or anything of that sort as they don’t interest me very much, however James Dawson wrote this very well, taking a scary topic and turning it into a thrilling mystery that grips your attention until the very end. The twist at the end certainly gives the story its genre and it isn’t a book you’ll forget soon.

  5. I absolutley loved this book. It was gripping and intense. At times it had me holding my breath. It was a modern book with a bloody mary curse. I loved how you put a history ghost in to a modern day. Especially when it’s Bloody Mary. Thank you for creating an amazing book.

  6. I very much enjoyed this book because it was quite different from other horror stories I’ve read and more of a mystery with horror references. I felt I was participating in the plot as it unfolded and discovering the secrets at the same time as the characters, rather than waiting for them to catch up with my reasoning. Oddly, I found this rather frustrating at times but it made me want to read on! I’m really glad that things didn’t turn out as the characters wanted and expected. The twist completed what I thought was a thrilling but vexing story that had me on edge right upto the end.

  7. I thought this was a very effective and chilling book although I’m not normally attracted to ghost stories. I wasn’t really convinced by the boarding school – it was a bit of a cliché – or by the convenient lack of parents. Cain seemed to have an unrealistic amount of freedom for a schoolboy! I was also a bit surprised and annoyed that, after all Bobby’s and Cain’s efforts to release Mary, she ended up with more freedom to be evil. Maybe some readers like this sort of ending but I would have preferred her to find peace.

  8. I liked the mix of romance and horror in this book and I thought it was really well written. I was a bit disappointed by the ending because I felt sorry for Mary and I wanted a resolution for her. I didn’t like the suggestion that she’ll continue to get her revenge by killing every last family member. I don’t like books to end on cliffhangers unless there’s going to be a sequel. Perhaps not quite my favourite then!

  9. This book is the most amazingly creepy book – yet still with a touch of romance – I have ever read!!
    It’s a suspense-filled book that will have your heart beating faster as you sit up straighter and quickly read on. Not one you should read if you’re planning an early night, though, as there is no way you can put it down! When I read the last page and discovered that, though the book was finished, the story had just begun and Scary Mary lives on to wreak revenge – I felt cold shivers in the pit of my stomach.
    I loved it!!!

  10. I absolutely loved this book! I found it thrilling and page-turning, and loved the twists. I never expected Mary to be the type of person she turned out to be, due to the ‘phantom’ cuts that appeared on Bobbie’s body and the rumours that had been going around the school for decades. I would recommend this book to my friends, but advise them to read it during daytime! 🙂

  11. I enjoyed reading this book because the plot was really well thought out and the story was written brilliantly. It’s a new take on a children’s game with the bonus of an added twist of pure horror.
    I found the ending – in which Caine, Naya and Bobby come across the coffin – a slight anti-climax but when Bobby discovers the hidden message: BLEED LIKE ME in the inscription, I realised this really wasn’t the end. The non-ending is really clever and I really want to know what happens next!

  12. Towards the end of the book, Bobbie discovers that a girl in Mary’s dorm used to suffer ‘distressing nightmares’ and I began to wonder whether Mary had been a witch. People who’d met her said that ‘there was something about her’ and she seemed able to achieve things that a ghost should not be able to do. This book made me continually reflect on the evidence, a bit like Cain and Bobbie, and discover more and more links. I really enjoyed doing this and the ending – hinting that the revenge continues – was brilliant!

  13. I thought this ghost story was very well plotted and certain bits will stay with me for a long time. I enjoyed the growing relationship between Cain and Bobbie, especially because Cain didn’t turn out to be the character I thought he’d be. I loved the ending delivered in the form of a newspaper clipping – but don’t read it until you’ve finished!

  14. I thought this story was cleverly put together. Knowing that they only had 5 days to solve the problem made me want to keep reading and as time ran out, my heart beat faster! I found the ending rather disappointing because I wanted to find out what would happen to Mary.

  15. I loved this book, in particular the fast pace and the ending that is never quite resolved. The first chapter really set the mood and this was sustained until the end and the final newspaper clipping which hints at unfinished business. This book has everything: mystery, action, suspense, romance and people getting what they deserve. What more could you want?

  16. I like how this book had a twist on the legend of Bloody Mary. I think this would be a good read for anyone who likes horror/thriller. As I am am not a great fan of this genre I didn’t really enjoy this book. But, I would recommend this to fans of this genre 🙂

  17. I loved this book. It had everything: romance, humour, adventure and horror! I also liked the end where the twists just kept coming.

  18. This book looks at an urban legend from a modern teenager’s point of view. I found it rather daunting and slow to get into but by the end I was really gripped. Like all urban myths, it had to have a twist at the end and I wasn’t disappointed.

  19. I was really engrossed by this book from the moment I started reading it . I haven’t read the others and I am currently reading Allies and Assassins but I can tell this is going to be close and entertaining reading for this award.

    I can’t wait 😉

Tell us what you thought...

