Salvage by Keren David

Aidan Jones was my brother. But I couldn’t really remember his face. I couldn’t remember talking to him or playing with him. He was just a gap, an absence, a missing person.

18066469Before she was adopted by a loving family and raised in a leafy Home Counties town, Cass Montgomery was Cass Jones. Her memories of her birth family disappeared with her name. But when her adopted family starts to break down, a way out comes in the form of a message from her lost brother, Aidan. Having Aidan back in her life is both everything she needs and nothing she expected. Who is this boy who calls himself her brother? And why is he so haunted?

I glance at the paper. There’s a big picture on the front page. A girl with dark red hair. A girl with eyes that might have been green or they might have been grey. I sit down and stare at Cass, and it is her, it is. My stolen sister.

Aidan’s a survivor. He’s survived an abusive stepfather and an uncaring mother. He’s survived crowded foster homes and empty bedsits. He’s survived to find Cass. If only he can make her understand what it means to be part of his family. . .

Other books by the author

When I was Joe

Almost True

Another Life

Lia’s Guide to Winning the Lottery

Author website

http://kerendavid.com/

5 Questions with Keren David

http://www.welovethisbook.com/features/ya-book-prize-5-questions-keren-david

Read an extract

http://www.atombooks.net/salvage-extract/

How to make cornflake crispies as featured in Salvage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WoPlLH3wD0

 

If you loved this, why not try…

Trouble – Non Pratt

How to Save a Life – Sara Zarr

Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

Dead to You – Lisa McMann

Dead Ends – Erin Lange

23 thoughts on “Salvage by Keren David

  1. Victoria says:
    I really enjoyed Salvage. It was very well written and it impelled me to keep turning the page. I loved how you could see the differences between the two protagonists; how their lives were completely different and how they dealt with the situations in which they found themselves. I would definitely recommend this to

    Olivia says:

    The character development that occurred throughout the book was unexpected. I had no clue what this book was going to be about, but it was certainly a lot better than I thought it was going to be. I loved how different Cass and Aiden were and how you could see and understand that in their contrasting narrations.

  2. I found this book different because although there are lots of books about broken families and lost children, this book shows them from both points of view. I really enjoyed this book; it was my favourite one!!!

  3. We thoroughly enjoyed this book (even though Aidan really annoyed us at times). This book was great because it was very realistic and you could really imagine a young girl having to go through with the challenges that Cass faces.Cass wasn’t a particularly special character but we think that this helped the book to be more relatable. We especially liked Holly’s character because she was so caring and although she had not had the best experiences in her life she continued to support Aidan (even though he continuously messed up everything he had). Overall we really liked the way that the book linked in with the title “Salvage” by the title being the name of the shop below Holly’s house. We really enjoyed reading this book and are looking forward to reading some of Keren David’s other books.

  4. Sidra says:
    Salvage was an interesting book, although I found the plot a bit too predictable. It was like any other typical broken-family story. Although, I do guess that it could be relatable to people in this situation in reality. Nonetheless, it was cleverly written and the characters were unique and different.

    Mueerah says:
    I really enjoyed this book! I loved how it used a scenario that can possibly happen in real life too with real problems and issues explained in it. There wasn’t a point where I didn’t think there was suspense and my favourite scene was with Aidan and the gun because it really intrigued me. Amazing!

  5. I’ve never read a book that has as large amount of broken family relationships as this one does. In a way, like Aidan’s tattoo, this book is filled with hope. It’s really heartwarming to read about a brother and sister trying to find their way back to each other, this is the kind of story that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Amazing, fabulous, emotion filled. Definitely a to-read for everyone’s list!!

  6. The cover and blurb really didn’t give much away and I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this book but I really enjoyed it. It was a bit of an emotional rollercoaster with characters relaxed and content one minute then frightened or angry or miserable the next. I thought the author conveyed the drama and conflicting emotions really vividly by using the characters’ speech rather than narrative.
    I thought the plot was excellent. There were so many possibilities, it was impossible to predict what was going to happen and this kept me riveted. My only criticism is that the book was over too quickly!

  7. I thought this was a very good book. I liked the way different chapters were written either from Aidan’s or Cass’s points of view and that the writing styles matched their characters. This is my favourite book so far. I thought both main characters stayed in role and Cass’s sometimes silly and risky decisions were very believable because of this. I felt the story was Cass’s, perhaps because I’m a teenage girl, and I wonder if other girls did too.

  8. Salvage is a beautiful book, definitely one of my all-time favourites! It was fast paced but a real emotional roller coaster too. It made me think about things I’d never considered and changed the way I look at things now.
    I thought the line at the end: “I’m full of hope” was a perfect ending. All the characters had reason to be hopeful about their futures. What a great way to end a book!

  9. I really, really enjoyed this book. It was very down to earth, had lots of great characters and the action and suspense at the end just kept coming. I liked the way Cass was forced to discover the real world, not just through Aidan and his hand to mouth existence but by experiencing the impact of divorce.

  10. I was a little disappointed that this book was written just from Aidan’s and Cass’s points of view.
    I think chapters in other voices – Ben, Holly, Oliver and Janette – might have made the story flow better and I might have got to know the other characters better. It was rather slow in places. Chapter headings hinting at what will come next might have helped the speed too.

  11. I liked Aidan a lot. He was a very believable and engaging character. Cass didn’t impress me much. I wasn’t convinced about her rejection of her father when he left her mum. Considering all he’d done for her personally, I thought she would have been more accepting of the situation. You might expect the spoilt brat routine from a younger child but not from the sophisticated and well educated teenager Cass is supposed to be.

  12. This thought-provoking book is a great read! Its two-person point of view mirrors both the class differences in society and the joys and problems of separation and return.

  13. I liked the style of writing in this book. However, I found the plot hard to credit and that spoiled it for me somewhat. The Premise – that even someone with a disability can do the same things everyone else can – is great. There should definitely be more well-researched books with a disabled main character. But is it likely that a 16 year old without a disability would fly half way around the world with her 7 year old brother to find her dad, still less a blind teenager? I don’t feel that the author convinced me enough that Laureth would seriously consider this to the point of actually doing it.

  14. I found this book very interesting, with all of the daily struggles Aidan has, and the book just gave me a new understanding to how people’s lives are dominated by fears of losing loved ones and hope. I also found it very heart-warming when Aidan was reunited with his sister Cass, and how she wanted to help him. This book was amazing and I loved it!

  15. The main characters Cass and Aidan (brother and sister) at an early age are both separated; Aidan is put into Foster care and Children’s homes, while Cass her life is much different she has had a good life with her adoptive parents. Her adopted Father is a Conservative MP and when Aidan sees a picture of Cass in the news Aidan manages to track his Sister down and they meet up. How different Aidan is to his sister the story runs through all emotions, feelings and heartache that Aidan has gone through in his life and he has to come to terms with his past, and Cass has troubles of her own. The story takes you on a roller-coaster ride and is a very enjoyable read.

  16. As soon as I started to read Salvage, I couldn’t stop. I felt I connected with Cath and the strain of expectations. I loved Aidan and Finn, and felt what he felt. The book built up to a tremendous ending, when he picked up the gun I literally held my breath. Dramatic at times and deep, I felt the book took two opposite sides of social problems and connected them beautifully with a single family tie. I loved it.

  17. For me Aiden really salvaged this book!!!! He was by far my favourite character and I think really made this book believable with his wit and worries through out his chapters, so much that I sometimes felt Cass’s chapters were slightly less entertaining and her behaviour felt sometime over dramatic with the difference in their situations. However this book captured me and I was fully enthralled in the fast moving action of the book. Though I am an only child I think Keren David really allowed me to experience the ups and down of sibling relationships old and new! 😀

  18. I absolutely loved this book. It was spectacular, unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I’ve never really understood when people describe things to be ‘raw’. I understand now though, Salvage is so raw and gritty and totally realistic and believable. I loved this book because of the way it seemed to be more focused on the character development and Cass and Aidan’s backgrounds than it was on making the plot too complex or hard to follow. It was refreshing to read about such an independent female lead, who didn’t go all gooey-eyed at first sight of a good looking boy. I also liked the realistic relationship between Holly and Aidan, they argued, and neither one of them was perfect, which is what made it so believable. The book was very fast paced, and within the first chapter you are thrown immediately into the story, which keeps you on your toes, and the climax was so incredibly exciting and nerve racking all in the same breath. I’m also intrigued by the use of two different tenses for each characters point of view. I find it interesting that Cass’s narrative is in the past, when it was Aidan who dwelled on his past and upbringing, and Aidan spoke in the present, when Cass was the one more focussed on her present life and her education. Anyway, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone. 5 stars!

  19. This book helped me see things from different viewpoints and really changed my opinion about lots of things, especially about people like Aidan. I really connected with the characters and believed in the problems they were facing. The cover of the paperback version doesn’t sell the book at all while the hardback cover sums up the story brilliantly. That’s just how I imagined Cass and Aidan.

  20. I think the author made this book really exciting but also totally credible. The pace was fast and the writing vivid. I really didn’t want to stop reading! I liked seeing things first through Cass’s and then through Aidan’s eyes. It helped me understand them and added to the suspense when the bully came back into Aidan’s life and started threatening Cass

  21. I loved this book because it related to real life situations and how we might react to them. I thought that relating the story from the viewpoint of Cass and Aidan in alternate chapters was very effective and helped me get inside their characters. Cass and Aidan’s first meeting was totally believable and I could feel their awkwardness. I’m not going to give away the ending but it had me really worried!

  22. This book was fantastic! I preordered this and started it immediately as I loved the Joe trilogy and was excited to read this. I was not disappointed in the slightest – The characters were strong and interesting with real depth to them. Aidan frustrated me at times because he seemed to sabotage every chance he has at making his life better. I loved the way Cass was determined to help Aidan and be a part of his life despite his troubles because she remembers how close she was to him when they were young. The climax of the story builds up so brilliantly and you feel so much emotion while reading it. This was just as good as the Joe trilogy – outstanding!

Tell us what you thought...

