Pantomime by Laura Lam

R.H. Ragona’s Circus of Magic is the greatest circus of Ellada. Nestled among the glowing blue Penglass – remnants of a mysterious civilisation long gone – are wonders beyond the wildest imagination. It’s a place where anything seems possible, where if you close your eyes you can believe that the magic and knowledge of the vanished Chimeras is still there. It’s a place where anyone can hide. Iphigenia Laurus, or Gene, the daughter of a noble family, is uncomfortable in corsets and crinoline, and prefers climbing trees to debutante balls. Micah Grey, a runaway living on the streets, joins the circus as an aerialist’s apprentice and soon becomes the circus’s rising star. But Gene and Micah have balancing acts of their own to perform, and a secret in their blood that could unlock the mysteries of Ellada.

Other books by the author

Shadowplay (coming soon)

Publisher’s site with chapter sample

http://strangechemistrybooks.com/books/pantomime-by-laura-lam/

Some interviews with Laura

http://fantasy-faction.com/2012/laura-lam-interview

http://www.mybookishways.com/2013/02/interview-laura-lam-author-of-pantomime.html

http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/02/07/ten-questions-about-pantomime-by-laura-lam/

Author website

http://staticsplit.wordpress.com/

http://www.adamchristopher.co.uk/guest-post-laura-lam-on-her-debut-novel-pantomime/

Similar books by other authors

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Splintered by A G Howard

The City’s Son by Tom Pollock

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

31 thoughts on “Pantomime by Laura Lam

  1. Pantomime was a very strange read for me as it was like nothing I have ever read before. It is heartfelt and sweet yet very surreal and a bit bizarre. The characters were great, and felt very realistic. I really think Laura Lam has gotten into the heads of all these wonderful characters and written them to be and react exactly how they would in reality. The descriptions really make you not only feel like you’re there but also make you wish you were there, and the plot is very clear and exciting. I especially think the main character Micah is one to mention, as without spoiling anything he has to deal with a lot in the book and every single action he takes against it is believable and fresh.
    Ben
    Charles Thorp
    Millennium RIOT Readers

  2. I really enjoyed this book and found it very gripping! I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  3. Pantomime was fascinating. I really enjoyed the unique idea of having the story in two parts, almost. Waiting for the two time lines to meet kept me turning the pages. As a reader, you can really relate to Micah/Gene’s frustration and confusion despite not being in his/her circumstances. For a while, I felt that the title did nothing for the book until I had a deeper realisation that it described the façade he/she was putting on perfectly. Another aspect I liked was the extracts from texts in the story at the beginning of each chapter, they gave me an insight into the world the tale is set in. But most of all, the ending is very intriguing. It will lead so perfectly on to another book and despite that I didn’t like some things that happened, I feel they were necessary – making for an exciting sequel.
    8/10
    Alexa

  4. I really liked this book. I found it very unique and unusual, definitely unlike anything I have read before. For a debut novel it was excellent! I absolutely loved Micah/Gene but i much preferred him as a boy in the circus than a girl from nobility. All of the characters were very good and interesting to read about and even though the story goes back and forward through both of Micah’s lives it still flowed very well and I just had to keep reading to find out how his life played out. There were some shocking moments but on the whole it was very well written and brilliantly strange! I am torn between my favourite choice for NETBA now, between The Savages and this!

  5. Pantomime is an extraordinary adventure into the depths of an unknown land named Ellada. With mysterious Penglass domes dotted all around, this book could not have been more unique. Uncovering the deepest secrets of the two protagonists Gene and Micah was an emotional journey on its own. Both of them are different from the others in society and each of them is struggling to find a place where they belong. Pantomime touched many issues that teenagers nowadays can easily relate to. I found myself unable to put this book down; it was tremendously interesting as well as entertaining. Despite leaving a few secrets still waiting to be unfolded Pantomime was a brilliant read and in my opinion it is a gem amongst young adult fiction.
    Mehak

    I have never read a book quite like Pantomime. It deals with matters in our society today very sensitively and carefully, and that is what I really loved about the book. We really feel close to Iphigenia/Micah by the end, and we pity both sides of the character. But it goes far deeper than pity. All of us have felt out of place before, and so we can sympathize in some way with Iphigenia, who is forced by her parents to be someone she doesn’t want to be. Then, as Micah comes to terms with himself, we rejoice with him.
    I think that Iphigenia represents the confined, female side of the character, and Micah represents the free, male side. However both sides have difficulties. This book is essentially a story of acceptance, as the blurb reads, but it is on a far larger scale than most stories like that as Iphigenia/Micah has a lot more troubles than the average person.
    I really enjoyed reading Pantomime, as it was a new and novel idea to create such a complex story out of such a simple idea like acceptance. I think that this story has a moral: never to ignore anyone, no matter who they are, as it will only end in disaster, as Bil and Aenea find out too late, to their own detriment.
    Ramya

  6. This book was really interesting and unique and dealt with some unusual topics which were shown very well. I liked the setting of the future world, which was so similar to the past, and the mystery behind the references to the previous civilisation.
    The main character is really well portrayed and you can relate to her emotions. The author shows how she deals with lives with the fear of her secret being discovered and being found as a freak, and rejected by society. Her character is strong and knows that she can make her own choices in life about her identity and discover who she wants to be, despite the way she has been born. We see her trying on her different costumes and options in life to see which fits the life she wants to live. The flashbacks in different times were really good and effective to reveal some things and keep things hidden to build up to the moment of realisation. It was slightly confusing sometimes, however, in the beginning, to work out the order of when events happened, and about whether there were different characters because of the different names mentioned, because of the chapters being set at different times in Micah’s life, before this is all revealed.
    There is a secret in the plot that was unexpected and well revealed with small details that don’t seem quite right, building up gradually until the secret is admitted and our suspicions are confirmed. There are lots of secrets and mysteries throughout the book that make it interesting and keep you wanting to find out the truth, such as the secrets with Bill and Frit.
    It had a dramatic ending and a good cliff-hanger which leaves you eager to know what will happen next.
    Anusha

  7. This book is not revolutionary, it is not gripping. Equally it is not awful, it is not a chore. This book reminds me of my mother’s cooking, not restaurant quality but ………edible. The ideas are all very far out and unique but Lam seems unable to connect to us readers in a way that makes these ideas come to life. That’s just my view on it, I’m sure many fantasy readers would enjoy this book, but for me it was just another finished chapter.
    Emily

  8. ‘Pantomime’ is an average read. I found it slightly confusing and difficult to get in to. I didn’t really like reading about the character’s issues, but as I read on, I enjoyed the book more and more. However, if it hadn’t been part of the award, I probably wouldn’t have bothered finishing the book after the first few chapters.

  9. I found this book quite confusing at the start because it was hard to know what was happening and where it was happening. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery.

  10. I thought the characters and setting in Pantomime was great however I did find it quite difficult to read as there wasn’t an exact plot so it was quite hard to ‘get into’. I did feel like the story dealt with a lot of problems that teenagers face which was good 🙂

  11. I found the book ‘Pantomime’ an excellent page turner. The book was fantastic as it had some aspects of fantasy and reality hidden within it. The ‘Condition’ was different and unusual, setting it apart from any other book I had read. The cover at first didn’t seem to be what I would enjoy but I would recommend this book to many of my friends as it was a great read.

  12. Pantomine is my favourite book, hands down. The fantasy backdrop, with Victorian and modern influences brought this book to life for me. I want to know more about that ancient race and penglass, and the kedi. Hope there is going to be a sequel to this book it just can’t end like this!

  13. I did really enjoy reading this book although some elements were disappointing for example the ending I felt seemed a bit rushed and it didn’t answer any of the questions which build up throughout the story. However I did enjoy reading about this parallel world and finding out how it is similar to our own. I also think it covers some common teenage issues well without turning the book into a quick read teenage romance.
    Olivia

    I have never read a book quite like Pantomime. It deals with matters in our society today very sensitively and carefully, and that is what I really loved about the book. We really feel close to Iphigenia/Micah by the end, and we pity both sides of the character. But it goes far deeper than pity. All of us have felt out of place before, and so we can sympathize in some way with Iphigenia, who is forced by her parents to be someone she doesn’t want to be. Then, as Micah comes to terms with himself, we rejoice with him.
    I think that Iphigenia represents the confined, female side of the character, and Micah represents the free, male side. However both sides have difficulties. This book is essentially a story of acceptance, as the blurb reads, but it is on a far larger scale than most stories like that as Iphigenia/Micah has a lot more troubles than the average person.
    I really enjoyed reading Pantomime, as it was a new and novel idea to create such a complex story out of such a simple idea like acceptance. I think that this story has a moral: never to ignore anyone, no matter who they are, as it will only end in disaster, as Bil and Aenea find out too late, to their own detriment.
    Ramya

    Pantomime is the debut novel for Laura Lam and the first of what seems to be a very promising series. Micah Grey is a runaway who has decided to become an aerialist in the circus and has left his aristocratic life behind. I’m not going to give much away because this book is full of twists and turns which will make your jaw drop.
    The setting is very vivid and there is big history of Ellada which builds throughout the novel. Most of the characters are likeable and the novel doesn’t drag too much but at the beginning it can seem a bit slow. Like most young adult books, Pantomime is a coming of age and self-discovery story which may seem a bit cliché but trust me this book is very original.
    I only have one problem with Pantomime. Although it was very well written, the plot wasn’t incredibly strong. It felt like a big prologue to a book which has yet to be written because most of information we had learned is now irrelevant. However, there are some cliff hangers and there is a lot room for opportunity and new plot twists for the books which will follow.
    Pantomime is a typical YA novel with many unexpected twists and when I found out the sequel ‘Shadow play’ is coming out in January, I was very excited and eager to find out what is coming next. I would recommend pantomime to anyone and I can’t wait to uncover the mysteries of Ellada. I would give this novel a 4.5/5
    Sophie

  14. Pantomine was a very unusual, yet enjoyable book to read, with a lot of twists and turns throughout the main story line. I found it had a sad ending which could have improved to make it a happier ending. Apart from this, I found the book was a page turner.

  15. A very interesting book. I liked the description but thought it was a little bit long. Overall a good book though.

  16. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, especially the unique nature of the storyline and would definitely recommend this book to my friends.

  17. I found Pantomime to be a gripping page turner with many previously unexplored themes which I found to be refreshing and interesting. I enjoyed the fact that the story was not simply of a runaway child but of a runaway child with a secret that means they have more decisions than the norrmal person to make. I felt compassion and sympathy towards the child and was enthralled by the whole story. A worthwhile read and one of the best books I have ever read.

  18. In the beginning I felt quite lost, as if it had just thrown me into the middle of the story. But Lam’s clever way of telling the story going back and forth between the past and the present kept things interesting; that kept me guessing. As the story unfolds, many things fall into place and quite a few questions were answered – however a few still weren’t!

  19. I really enjoyed Pantomime because it was full of mystery and as the story progressed I became more engrossed in the story line. I loved the circus setting for the book and it was described in so much detail, as I was reading the book I felt as though I was actually sitting watching all the acts or walking through the carnival after the show.The writing was wonderfully descriptive.

  20. In my opinion, I thought Pantomime was an interesting book with plenty of twists. Although it was unpredictable and would appeal to many, I thought some chapters were a bit long winded and unnecessary, which diluted the actual enjoyable content of the book.

  21. I thought Pantomime was a little strange,but I loved it! The twist in the book was brilliant! And I loved both Gene and Micah.

  22. I was reluctant to read this, as many had told me how “weird”and “disturbing” it was. Although I understand that the condition is not ‘normal’, it didn’t effect me whilst reading the back; this difference was just setting it apart from other books. I enjoyed reading through it but, now, looking back, I realise the middle was a blur.

  23. Pantomime is one of the strangest, yet most magical books I’ve ever read, taking you through the sensational journeys of both Gene and Micah. Gene who is also known as Iphigenia Laurus, gives you her story from her perspective of what life is like for her to be the daughter of a noble family. On the other hand, Micah, a runaway who’s living on the streets, takes you through his spectacular journey of life in the circus. You will keep on revealing more and more secrets as well as surprises as you get deeper in to the book. It isn’t the type of book I would normally read however I’m glad I did.

  24. Pantomime, which is both unusual and fascinating, was an enjoyable book to read. With the many plot twists and interesting story line, I would definitely recommend it. I particularly enjoyed reading about the many secrets which unfolded throughout the story and I was continually left wanting to read more!

  25. Pingback: Recent Links |

Comments are closed.