Acid by Emma Pass

2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID – the most brutal, controlling police force in history – rule supreme. No throwaway comment or muttered dissent goes unnoticed – or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a bloody crime she struggles to remember.

The only female inmate in a violent high-security prison, Jenna has learned to survive by any means necessary. And when a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID – and to uncover the truth about what really happened on that dark night two years ago.

Other books by the author

The Fearless (coming soon)

Some interviews with Emma

http://www.onceuponabookcase.co.uk/2013/04/2013-ya-uk-debut-interview-acid-by-emma.html http://www.jessicaspotswood.com/blog/2013/05/01/thrice-interview-emma-passs-acid/

http://solittletimeforbooks.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/author-interview-emma-pass.html

Author website

http://www.emmapass.com/

http://emmapass.blogspot.co.uk/

Similar books by other authors

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Legend by Marie Lu

The Name of the Blade by Zoe Marriott

The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

29 thoughts on “Acid by Emma Pass

  1. Acid is an incredible book about a dystopian world, ruled by the controlling government ACID. It is the story of Jenna Strong, who adopts many personas, and has to keep secrets from the people around her while she is on the run, having escaped from a prison. The world she lives in is well described and imagined, with many interesting aspects. There is a lot of mystery especially around why Jenna has been freed, and why people have done things they have. There are many interesting secrets, not only kept by Jenna, but also by the organisations, such as NAR, FREE, and also ACID, which kept me captured. I loved how things are not always what they seem in this book, and there are many amazing, unexpected twists that link in to every small detail of the book. It is a book about secret identities, and what it is like to adapt to a new life. There is a lot of action in Jenna’s life as she tries to overcome the rules and traps that the terrible government Acid has forced on her. People are not who they seem in this book. The plot is very good and well developed, and every detail of the plot is there for a reason, which I found very clever. The ending was really good, with an unexpected ultimatum, and a truly unexpected and brilliant twist at the end, changing everything we previously knew about Jenna’s life. This was a book with an amazing plot, which was also really well-written. I would recommend this book to anyone and wished that it wouldn’t end while I was reading it!
    Anusha

  2. Acid was one of my favourite books up until about half way because it got fairly boring. The storyline started to die down and it gradually got worse and worse. However, the beginning was great which is a shame that the ending didn’t match up.
    Sophie
    Charles Thorp
    Millennium RIOT Readers

  3. I thought that ACID was mediocre on the whole. The plot line was confusing and slow in places. I thought the 1st half of the book was great, but the 2nd half let me down. I hated some of the characters and I hated how it ended. The whole ‘jail’ part at the end was very far-fetched and unrealistic and let the story down. Altogether I thought that the plot was fairly interesting and I would give it a 4/10
    Chloe
    Charles Thorp
    Millennium RIOT Readers

  4. This read was very well accomplished and was written effectively; this was prominent during the ‘character changes’ of Jenna. This was probably my favourite book, because of all of the twists in plot.

  5. I really enjoyed Acid! It was nothing like what I was expecting and it was a page-turner. I would like to find out what happened next as it ended on a cliff-hanger

  6. I loved this book! It was full of twists and turns. It keeps the reader engaged all the way though and the ending was fulfilling.

  7. Acid started with a Jenna waking in the prison for a crime that was not even commited by her. It was quite a strange story line that progressed through including the newspaper articles

  8. For me, ‘ACID’ was a hard book to get into but near the end I really started enjoying it. The last chapter or so was exactly what I wanted so it left me feeling very fulfilled. Even a month or so later I still think about it without realising (I think I’ve even had a couple of dreams about what happens next) but I hadn’t noticed the book had left such an impression on me. At times I felt it was starting to drag on but almost as if the author heard my inner complaint I was immediately given something to think about or put in a situation meaning you couldn’t leave the pages until everything was a little calmer. Some parts were quite unexpected but I liked it because it stopped the aforementioned dragging. Dear Hollywood, this will make the PERFECT movie due to the action and emotion combination.
    9/10
    Alexa

  9. Acid is definitely one of the best books of the group. It keeps the reader engaged and it keeps us wanting to read on with plenty cliff-hangers which appear often at the end of chapters. The ending of Acid came to a satisfying conclusion but I wanted a sequel and I was very sad to find out that Acid is a standalone book.
    Sophie

  10. I really enjoyed reading Acid, I was surprised that I enjoyed it as it isn’t a book I would normally read, I found it to be a real page turner.

  11. Acid is a gripping novel that keeps you guessing all the way through. However, it took me a while, personally, to ‘get into it’. Once I had, the book was a delight to read.
    Acid features a different sort of heroine: she is neither a fairytale princess nor a ruthless superhero. Instead she is a combination of the two, a very ordinary person. She experiences love at the worst time in her life, when she is on the run from Acid. She has had a terrible life, and we can all relate to some of the pain she has been put through.
    What made Acid an amazing book for me was the variety of formats in which the story is told. Often, instead of straightforward narratives, we read letters, newspaper articles and transcripts of calls. This means we are always one step ahead of Jenna; we know things that she doesn’t know yet.
    Overall, Acid is a must read for everyone! When I picked it up, I didn’t think it would be my kind of book, but how wrong I was!

    Ramya

  12. I absolutely loved reading ‘Acid’ and I was extremely surprised about how gripped I was, ‘Acid’ being a book I may not have picked out. I would understand if someone found the character name change slightly confusing, but I found it really interesting and something I had never really come across in a book. This book is brilliant, extremely well written and I would not be surprised if it became very popular.

  13. I really liked reading this book because of the unpredictable plot twists that kept me interested right until the end. The writing was descriptive but also fast-paced so that you got a good idea of what was happening but didn’t get overloaded with detail.

  14. I really enjoyed this book! It really grabbed me in! I loved how there were never ending twists and turns which were unpredictable, making you want to carry on reading. I would definitely recommend this book!

  15. I found Acid extremely interesting and intriguing. I enjoyed the book throughout and thought that the plot twists made it more exciting.

  16. I thoroughly loved this book, it was hard to put down however it was also quite hard to get into as the story is very complicated and detailed. One of my favourite books of all time.

  17. Acid was.. well a nice take on what could happen in the future. It was nice having Jenna become Jessica and get to see how her life could have been if she hadn’t been sent to prison.

  18. Acid has unleashed a love for reading which I thought I left behind when I closed the last pages of The Hunger Games. Since then I have been searching for a book that had the same gripping plot of The Hunger Games but with the healthy originality which readers crave. A sufficient twist at the end to keep us on our toes awaiting the next book without leaving us annoyed with its incompletion. How can you not adore this book? How can you not let it consume your life and thoughts? 5*
    Emily

    Acid is a gripping and thrilling novel, plunging you into the possible future of Britain.
    Set in the year 2113; the book takes you to a time where democracy no longer exists. Acid, the most brutal police force in history has taken over the entire Britain. Emma Pass has created a world in which no one can escape. She has created a dictatorship which many people will dread living in. Throughout the novel there are mentions of the when Britain’s economy collapse and Britain broke away from Europe, leading to the take-over by ACID. The possibility of this actually happening is horribly plausible. Jenna Strong, the protagonist, is a beautifully crafted by the author. She is strong, resourceful and pragmatic. Gradually, through the book we start to see the development of Jenna’s character. As a reader we start to see the softer side of her, below all the different acts she tries to put on. Overall I think Acid was an enjoyable and suspenseful novel. I would definitely recommend this book to teenagers looking for an exciting book to read.
    Mehak

    I enjoyed reading ACID; despite its size I read it very quickly as I couldn’t put it down. I enjoyed its originality with some familiar elements but also some new exiting and interesting ideas about the future. Although I found the story slowed pace after an exciting beginning it did pick up. I also liked the way there were clear sections to the Jenna’s life and each had quite a different atmosphere and almost their own story line
    Olivia

  19. Although this was not a book I would’ve usually picked to read myself, I quite enjoyed it. It was full of action and I grew to like the main character and plot twists the more I read!

  20. I was surprised that I really enjoyed this book because I’m not really interested in this type of book. I felt it was a really page turner and very enjoyable to read.

  21. This book was a great suprise! I found myself totally immersed in the story and was intrigued by the main character and the many plot twists. Would definitely recommend it.

  22. When I first starting reading ACID, I was hooked. Couldn’t put the thing down, but after a few chapters I slowly lost interest. What started off as a great read slowly turned into a great bore in my opinion. Although the over all plot seemed brilliant and the book itself was good, it just wasn’t my favourite.

  23. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book because I found that there were constant surprises and plot twists to keep you hooked. Though it got confusing at times with the character changing names constantly, the story was really imaginative and interesting. I found the futuristic setting intriguing and I would definitely consider reading this book again. I would recommend it mainly to people who do like this type of book though I think most people could enjoy it. The characters were memorable and the writing was superb. Overall I loved the book.

  24. I really liked this. It had a good story, excellent characters and I loved that Jenna and Max weren’t too soppy with each other. I liked the way the story led you through Jenna’s identities, bringing it all together at the end and I couldn’t help but feel like there could be a sequel with what was thrown in at the end. I don’t think it was as excellent as Slated or Noble Conflict but a good dystopian novel to try!

  25. Excellent read with lots of well written characters. However the ending was a bit disappointing, considering all through the book it had been about the power of ACID and then they were destroyed far too easily

  26. I loved this book! I thought that it was adventurous, and the book was so addictive, I couldn’t stop reading it. I thought that the ending was not as good as the rest of the book. I do hope that the author will write a second book, Acid 2, because it was one of the best books I have read. I definitely think it will be a big success. If you love a good adventure then read this book.

  27. I found ACID to be an enjoyable and addictive read with many plot twists and unpredictable turns. I enjoyed ACID all the way up to the end, I did however wonder what happened to aforementioned charcters as they seemed to disappear not to be spoke of again. But overall a fascinating and eye opening read.

Comments are closed.