And the winner is…

Congratulations to Teri Terry winner of this year’s Northeast Teenage Book Award!

slated

Thanks to all our authors for braving the snow and severe weather warnings to make it to the party.

Thanks to all the judging schools this year for making it such a great event.

Unfortunately, some of our schools were unable to make it on the night because of the snow. If you have any photos, videos or sound clips of the party please share them in the comments below so everyone can experience the excitement of the event.

 

7 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. Explanatory note needed? Above was the speech I gave at the NETBA event on 26th January, for those who couldn’t make it in because of the blizzard-like conditions.
    Such a brilliant event – thanks so much to everyone who was involved and voted.

  2. I had a fab time at the awards and I was so pleased to be on the shortlist. I thought it was a good show despite the snow.

  3. Thank you for the wonderful event on Friday. It was a pleasure to meet so many enthusiastic book lovers and I really enjoyed the whole occasion.

  4. The young people who made it through the snow were great. Lovely event and I’m glad I made it. Thanks to everyone concerned for even noticing Mister Creecher among the hordes of books out there.

  5. I had a great time.

    I was honoured to be shortlisted and quite bowled over by how enthusiastic some of the students were. I really enjoyed the opportunity to visit a couple of schools too.

  6. Below is the speech I gave at the NETBA event on 26th January, for those who couldn’t make it in because of the blizzard-like conditions.
    Such a brilliant event – thanks so much to everyone who was involved and voted.

    You have no idea how happy I am to be here, on a shortlist with such an amazing bunch of authors as are here today. Slated is my first book to be published, and NETBA is the first award it was shortlisted for – and although there have been a few more that have come up since then, this is my first ever award event. So I’m always going to remember this. So THANK YOU so much to everyone who voted for me and got me here to day.

    One question I have that I’d like to talk about a bit is this: Are story tellers born, or made? I think with myself there was always this crazy streak inside me that made me make stuff up, but where did it come from? A large part of it must be my early love of the magic in books.

    My parents had a role here: they put books in my hands when I wasn’t big enough to hold them myself, but they could never have kept up with my appetite for books:
    that is where libraries came in. We moved around a lot when I was growing up, and libraries were my safe place in unfamiliar places. Without having access to all those books in all those libraries, I don’t think I’d be standing here right now.

    I’m writing full time now, but before this I was working as a library assistant in Bucks for a few years. Working in a library, we all know kids like that: whose happy place is lost in a story. What can be even more exciting are the ones who are less convinced that reading is for them, but somehow find that it is: they get that one book in their hands that sets them off on an adventure that will stay with them for life.

    Books can open so many doors: provide a safe way to try on different lives and experiences; show that you’re not alone in how you feel or in what has happened to you; to visit new places, and ideas.

    With Slated and its sequel, Fractured, I also set out to take a close look at what makes us who we are; when it is right to fight the system, and, even more importantly, how is it right to fight the system.

    Usually when I talk to a group of people about Slated, usually one of the first things I’ll do is give an idea of what the story is about. But I know most of you here have read our books. So instead, I thought I’d do something I’ve never done before. And I’ve got something to show you.

    Fractured! Out 4th April. I got an early copy sent by my amazing publisher Orchard Books just a few days ago. So I thought I’d read just a few pages of the first chapter.

    And finally I have some news: Slated has been optioned for a film!

  7. A fantastic event! Thanks so much to all the schools who came and everybody who read the books. You asked great questions and showed so much enthusiasm. A pleasure to be there to meet the other short-listed authors, and congratulations Teri!

    all the best, Elizabeth Wein

Comments are closed.