Slated – Teri Terry

Kyla’s memory has been erased,
her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist,
and that they are giving her a second chance –
as long as she plays by their rules.
But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind.
Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems.
Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

Review an Interview with Teri Terry:

http://www.pentopaperblog.com/2012/07/slated-by-teri-terry-review-interview.html

Author Website Link:

http://teriterry.jimdo.com/

Similar books by other authors:

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Legend by Marie Lu
The Glimpse by Claire Merle
The Killables by Gemma Malley
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Matched by Ally Condie

21 thoughts on “Slated – Teri Terry

  1. I really enjoyed Slated. I literally couldn’t put the book down. It really grips you from the start to the end. I think it is the best book ever. I like how Kyla’s character is portrayed – seems innocent but still somehow guilty. It was everything I could have wanted in a book. I can’t wait for FRACTURED to be out.

  2. I love this book! I love how Kyla develops throughout and how the different characters reactions to slating are shown. How Kyla’s old life is shown in her dreams is absolutely fantastic. The book is really intriguing and I can’t wait for the next one.

  3. This book is one of my favourite books out of the Teen Book Awards.
    Being dark and mysterious, it was completely my type of book. I think Ben was my favourite characters with Kyla’s mum being my least.
    Groovy book and I cant wait for number 2!!

  4. Absolutely great! I loved this book from start to finish. It was exciting, fast-paced and gripped you from the first page. I was devastated when i finished it because i couldn’t just read straight on to the sequel and I am really looking forward to reading that. I loved the characters and the way Kyla’s relationship develops with her Mum is very heartwarming and at times very sad.
    I enjoyed this just as much as The Hunger Games…

  5. I loved this dystopian book! I thought that the idea of someone being able to wipe memories you used to have really clever and quite scary. I especially liked the book because I felt as though I was just as clueless and intrigued about being slated as Kyla. I enjoyed this twist on what the future could hold. I really liked the relationship she made with Ben and the problems she had facing trust. I think that the relationships she had with her family members were also clever. Through the family you saw how the pieces in her puzzle were starting to fall together. I thought the ending was great and left me hungry for more! I can’t wait for the next book.

    Hannah

  6. I loved the concept of ‘Slated’ and thought it was a really interesting, thought-provoking book. The realistic style that the book is written in made the story relatable to me because generally, the future world didn’t seem very different from our present reality – it really made me wonder if the future will actually be like this, because it really is possible. However, the plotline didn’t go the way I thought it would and I felt like it deviated from what was the most important point to me – Kyla realising who she used to be. Instead, the plot seemed to focus on other characters like Ben, which I wasn’t sure about. Also, the ending wasn’t very satisfying for me because nothing was resolved, and I felt like it was all very rushed. The addition of new problems like Wayne, Nico and Ben being missing left me a bit confused and there were too many mysteries left unsolved. However, I did enjoy this book and I am really looking forward to the sequel so that these mysteries can be finally solved!
    By Emma

  7. Dark and intriguing – I loved this book , but found the ending frustrating and can’t wait for the next one!

  8. I read this book in the summer, before I’d even heard about the teenage book awards. As soon as I’d finished the book I came straight into school and told everyone to read it 😛 it was an AMAZING book and I would read it a billion times because its so good.I cant wait for the sequel =D it was one of those books that you just couldnt put down, there was something gripping on every page. Just fantasic.

  9. I loved the concept of ‘Slated’ and thought it was a really interesting, thought-provoking book. The realistic style that the book is written in made the story relatable to me because generally, the future world didn’t seem very different from our present reality – it really made me wonder if the future will actually be like this, because it really is possible. However, the plotline didn’t go the way I thought it would and I felt like it deviated from what was the most important point to me – Kyla realising who she used to be. Instead, the plot seemed to focus on other characters like Ben, which I wasn’t sure about. Also, the ending wasn’t very satisfying for me because nothing was resolved, and I felt like it was all very rushed. The addition of new problems like Wayne, Nico and Ben being missing left me a bit confused and there were too many mysteries left unsolved. However, I did enjoy this book and I am really looking forward to the sequel so that these mysteries can be finally solved!
    By Emma

    Kyla thinks she is just a normal girl, well as normal as you can be after being Slated. But soon she realises that there are differences between her and the other smiling slateds in her group. Even her parents realise that there is something not right about her because she is so different to adopted sister Amy who is also slated. She finds that those she has been taught to trust and those she feels furthest from may be the ones to save her. Kyla and Ben’s relationship is a strange one and even Kyla is not sure where they stand when Ben thinks he sees a way out. Kyla has to learn that people are not always what they seem and not everyone is as kind as those in the hospital.
    The novel promises much throughout but with a lack of satisfactory ending the reader is left confused but longing for the sequel and to continue following Kyla in her journey of self-discovery. I am greatly looking forward to reading the sequel and finding out about the future Teri Terry has created for us.

    Lucy

    This is a book that you just can’t put down after reading the first page! This book is set in the dystopian future and is about a girl whose memory has been wiped out to give her a second chance in life. It is a thriller with surprise just along the corner that will surely make your spine tingle as it is quite chilling. It is cleverly written so that it only provides you with a hint that will drive you to despair until you find out what it means. I liked the characters best in this book and I really liked how the story line was moulded as the book progressed. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes a good plot and a bit of mystery…

    By Taiba

  10. I found this book hard to put down. Teri Terry is a brilliant author who really expresses Kyla’s feelings and emotions well and with a lot of attention to detail. Surprise follows surprise relentlessly. This is an excellent book and a pleasure to read. Well written and easy to fall in love with.
    Lauren Lough

  11. I loved this book. I loved how Kyla kept getting bits of her past mixed in with her life and how you can see how her emotions and actions are affected by what happens around her; for example when she met Tori her actions and emotions change and she copies Tori’s actions.

  12. Woah! I read this a month ago and the very thought of it still sends shivers down my spine! A modern literary Masterpiece!!!! 95072 out of 10!

  13. I agree it is amaaaaazing. Couldn’t put it down. I love how the story line is set and how Kyla keeps getting whispers of her past
    *****(out of 5*)

  14. I agree it is Amaaaaazing. Couldn’t put it down. I love how the story line and how Kyla keeps getting whispers of her past
    *****(out of 5*)

  15. I loved slated! It is like the best book ever! I liked the way Kyla was sort of a puzzle to figure out and I liked the way Ben was sort of a rock to her.If this doesn’t win I will cry 😦 🙂 i would rate it 10/10

  16. i agree this book is amaaaazing. I could not put it down. I love the way the story line is set out, I love the charcter Kyle.

  17. Totally agree with Joanne. Excellent book, couldn’t put it down. I liked how the characters were portrayed e.g Kayla …innocent yet guilty.Extremely well written,unmissable read with lots of action and mystery. I have no criticisms for this book and like Joanne cant wait for the next book
    I would rate this book
    *****(out of 5)

  18. The book was very interesting and unique, as soon as I started reading I could not put the book down. Although there were times I had to read the sentence over again to understand it it was still fascinating. I cant wait for Fractured (the sequel) to come out in the summer.
    My only question though is…..

    Why did kyla foster dad turn so evil near the end of the book?

Comments are closed.