Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.  They’ll get the truth out of her.  But it won’t be what they expect.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from a merciless and ruthless enemy?

Other books by the author:

The Winter Prince
A Coalition of Lions
The Sunbird
The Lion Hunter
The Empty Kingdom

Book Trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVbZOwbVazU

Interview with Elizabeth Wein

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/monica-edinger/interview-with-elizabeth-_b_1535203.html

Author Website Link:

http://www.elizabethwein.com/

Similar books by other authors:

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
The Double Shadow by Sally Gardner
Maus by Art Spiegelman
Once/Now/Then/After by Morris Gleitzman
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

9 thoughts on “Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein

  1. I did not like this book as much as the others in the shortlist as I felt that it was over complicated and I did not get attached to any of the characters. I found myself reading other books inbetween as I had to force myself to keep picking it up and reading on.

  2. A very moving book ,extremely slow start however gets better the closer to the end you get.This isn’t the kind of book I would normally read however I would recommend this to readers who like war based/spy stories with a sense of girl power and mystery.
    I found it hard to pick up at the start however by the end I couldn’t put it down

  3. I have now read all of the books twice and I still think this is the best book of all. I would recommend this to all of my friends and I think every page opened a new story. I think this book is very unpredictable. I just love how she knows she is going to die no matter what and she told him. I guess she was getting the easy way out. I suppose there is actually no easy way out. She obviously wasn’t a very good spy. She even ratted her friend out.

  4. Personally I think that this book is amazing, there are not many books like this. I think that a real spy would tell them everything. The movies are inaccurate about interrogations but this book is spot on!

  5. This book was so cleverly written and crafted it left me awe-struck! At first it was slow getting into the book, but you really grow to love the characters of Julie and Maddie and appreciate that the bond between them is really special. It is so clever how throughout the story, the information about Queenie/Julie/ Verity’s identity gets drip-fed to the reader so that it keeps you guessing right until the end. Then, to find out that it was all false information and that Julie was an unreliable narrator is a shock! The idea of a book written in codes is so fresh and interesting, and I loved trying to work out what they meant. At the same time, the story is harrowing and heart-breaking, especially in Maddie’s account of Julie’s death (I cried) – another shock. Cleverest of all though, is the way that the characters are linked up and tied together by the end, for example how Julie ends up being buried in her own grandmother’s rose garden. This gives the book real closure, so I felt good when I finished the book. The last letter touched me the most, when it referenced Peter Pan saying ‘the window is always open – come home’ (I cried again). Code Name Verity ticked all the boxes for me – an exciting, witty, clever, harrowing, modern, historical story!
    By Emma

    I really enjoyed this book because it was full of surprising twists and turns. I thought that it was quite repetitious until all the loose ends were tied into a bow at the end that made it very moving. It really played on my heartstrings by following the two best friends through very difficult and happy times. Every night when I sat down to read this entertaining book I found myself turning the pages as if I were one of the friends myself. However I thought the ending was slightly disappointing because I thought that it could have been followed through with a bit more story. I did however thoroughly enjoy the relationships between all of the characters and loved to see at the end how they were all linked together in a clever and enlightening way.
    By Hannah

    “Code Name Verity” is a book everyone should read. Despite it not being a true story you still get a real insight of how women were treated during the Second World War and how hard life in prisoner of war prisons were. We have heard a lot about people in concentration camps but “Code Name Verity” really gives you a different perspective on the war.
    For the whole of the first half you are hating Julie but as soon as you figure out her code and Miss Engel’s clues you realise that all of her stories were lies, but hugely convincing ones never the less. For the whole of the second half I was counting down the days until the end of Julie’s account and hoping that Maggie and the others would intervene before it is too late. You realise just how strong the relationship between Julie and Maggie is when it is put to the test on the bridge. It is such a heart wrenching scene and brought tears to my eyes despite Julie’s willingness to die and knowing that it was the right thing to do.
    Even though their story is not true you have to give Elizabeth Wein credit for such a believable and moving story.
    By Lucy

    “Tears may fail to prevail the shadows of the truth but the “Sensational Team” always flies on” – is what I have come to in my conclusion.
    This is a very exciting book, like no other, that you must read. It is an extremely well-written book that feels so realistic but makes you relate to it very easily even if you couldn’t be more different. I can safely say that every page had its own individual cliff-hanger and I could not put the book down. The characters are the “blood system” of this book that make it come alive. They are so adorable and my heart throbs for every one of them. I recommend this book to anyone, ranging from someone that like history to someone looking for something entertaining.
    By Taiba

  6. I did not enjoy this book. For a start, it annoyed me by telling a story, not through ‘Verity’s’ point of view, but through her friend, who you did not meet until the second half. Even when you met her friend, you did not know her story, and it did not tell you what had happened to Verity’s. The best thing about this is that it was factually correct.

Comments are closed.