15 Days Without a Head – Dave Cousins

Fifteen-year-old Laurence Roach just wants a normal life, but it’s not easy when your mum is a depressed alcoholic, and your six-year-old brother thinks he’s a dog. When Mum fails to come home one night, Laurence tells nobody, terrified he and his brother will be taken into care if anyone finds out. Instead, he attempts to keep up the pretence that Mum is still around: dressing up in her clothes to trick the neighbours and spinning an increasingly complicated tangle of lies. After two weeks on their own, running out of food and money, and with suspicious adults closing in, Laurence finally discovers what happened to his mother. And that’s when the trouble really starts . . .

Other books by the author:

Waiting for Gonzo (coming soon)

Book Trailer Link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8uUdp15na4

Interview with Dave Cousins:

http://www.williamhussey.co.uk/2012/02/the-essential-six-dave-cousins/

Author Website Link:

http://davecousins.blogspot.co.uk/

http://www.davecousins.net/

Similar books by other authors:

Being Billy by Phil Earle
The Memory Cage by Ruth Eastham
Mockingbird by Katherine Erskine
Wonder by R J Palacio
Boys Don’t Cry by Malorie Blackman
Life, Interrupted by Damian Kelleher
Boys Don’t Cry by Malorie Blackman
Pretty Bad Things by C J Skuse

9 thoughts on “15 Days Without a Head – Dave Cousins

  1. I love this book. I think it’s amazing because it deals with serious issues that some people might face in real life. It’s great that in the story there’s a happy ending, I have a friend who was taken away from her mam and can’t even speak to her in private. This is a brilliant story that inspires hope.

  2. This is my favourite of all the books on the shortlist. I read it in one sitting without stopping to even put the kettle on!! It has been a long time since I read a book all at once but i loved everything about it – the story – the characters and it reminded me a lot of My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher which I also really enjoyed. I really hope this book wins as it is great!

  3. 15 Days Without a Head amazed me a little- its cover was proven to misguide the reader, as I soon found out the novel wasn’t as light-hearted as its cover implied. It’s not the type of book that I would usually pick up off the shelves, but even so, it impressed me and I enjoyed reading it more than I thought I would. I also like the comedy on behalf of Jay and in general, I think this is a great read, so I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good book.

    by Maham

    A humorous, heartbreaking story, Dave Cousins’s gritty, soulful and turbulent tale depicts the harrowing life of two brothers: 15 year old Laurence Roach and 6 year old Jay, who live with their alcoholic mum in a run-down flat. When their mum mysteriously disappears Laurence and Jay’s lives are thrown into turmoil as they try to survive daily life without her. Lawrence’s desperate attempts to dodge the social workers and keep the family together soon prove to be not enough when he realises he has to get his mum back – one way or another. You’ll laugh and cry with this must-read book. A great page-turner with emotion on every page that will guarantee to leave you wanting more. The hilarious and troubled characters tie the whole book together making it a brilliant read. I wish there was a sequel!

    by Fareen

  4. i found this book very funny but it focuses on Scooby Doo far too much. I’m a fan of Scooby Doo but this isn’t a book about Scooby Doo this is a book that is telling the story of two children whose mam’s left and they have to try and get by and win a holiday

  5. I thought this was an amazing book, you couldn’t put it down. I read it in one night because I simply had to finish it, I wanted to know what happened. I thought this was a brilliant book that kept the readers’ attention the whole way through. Loved it =D

  6. When Laurence and his brother are abandoned by their mother, they have to learn how to cope by themselves. Although they have looked after themselves for a couple of days before, this time they have 15 to get themselves through. Along the way they make some unlikely friends in a radio DJ who promises them a holiday of a lifetime, and a girl who reminds Laurence what reality is when he gets desperate. Although you can watch the characters developing there are only so many ways you can make a radio quiz exciting. Despite this you grow to love Laurence’s desperation to protect his Scooby-doo enthusiast brother. You learn that parents not being around is not some kind of luxury, more like a struggle to survive…

    Lucy

    A humorous, heartbreaking story, Dave Cousins’s gritty, soulful and turbulent tale depicts the harrowing life of two brothers: 15 year old Laurence Roach and 6 year old Jay, who live with their alcoholic mum in a run-down flat. When their mum mysteriously disappears Laurence and Jay’s lives are thrown into turmoil as they try to survive daily life without her. Lawrence’s desperate attempts to dodge the social workers and keep the family together soon prove to be not enough when he realises he has to get his mum back – one way or another. You’ll laugh and cry with this must-read book. A great page-turner with emotion on every page that will guarantee to leave you wanting more. The hilarious and troubled characters tie the whole book together making it a brilliant read. I wish there was a sequel!

    Fareen

  7. I enjoyed this book as it was fast-paced and witty, and I never got bored as it was written so straightforwardly – it was always to the point. I felt like I could really relate with the characters as they were so realistic, and I especially loved Jay because he was just like my little brother! The plotline was quite good, and although I have never been keen on books entirely about domestic situations, I did enjoy this one. However, I did feel like the book went backwards on itself a bit as at the end the mother simply came home and they all lived ‘happily ever after’. I would have preferred Laurence to have a bit more mystery and action, perhaps with some misleading twists, before he found mum and maybe a more complex ending as I felt that it was a bit of a let-down. Overall though, I quite enjoyed this book.
    Emma

    This book deals with a problem that none of us can imagine for ourselves. The events of this book and what is happening inform us so much that we sympathise with Laurence Roach so much. Despite this, the book is full of hilarious moments, heart-warming fantasies and heart-breaking truths. The book is set out with each chapter as one of the 15 days – I thought this idea was particularly effective. I would recommend this book for anyone who wants quite a light read but is ready to face the heavy truths of life.
    Taiba

  8. Great book,based on very severe issues and deals with them well. Does have some stereotypes and focuses on Scooby Doo too much! Not the kind of book I would normally read, however I will be reading a lot more like this in the future.
    I would rate this
    ****(out of 5)

Comments are closed.