Killing Honour – Bali Rai

‘Honour,’ I repeated, wondering how such a small word could have caused so much

trouble.

When Sat’s sister, Jas, is married off into the Atwal family she changes, she’s quiet and
distant. But Sat’s too busy with his own life; his girlfriend, his friends, football . . . Then
Jas disappears.

According to her new husband, she’s run off with another man. Her family disown
her; don’t seem to care if she’s ever found. But Sat doesn’t believe it. Something has
happened to his sister and he’s determined to figure out what. But his investigations
take him into dark and dangerous territory . . .

32 thoughts on “Killing Honour – Bali Rai

  1. This was one of my favourite books from when I first started reading. I liked the chatty tone to it and it is very informal making the reader get straight into it and want to read about it. Sat’s sister is accused of running off with her lover and leaving her husband and because of the Sikh culture, this means that her parents decide to forget about her completely and pretend she didn’t live. That’s what everyone in her family does except for Sat. Sat is an untraditional Sikh and although that may not be good in his culture, it was the only reason they ended up finding out the reality of what happened to his sister Jas and return the honour to their family. It shows the diversity in culture and how such a small thing in this culture can be taken very seriously in another culture.

    By Salma

  2. Kathryn says:
    Once Sat’s sister mysteriously vanished apparently with a Muslim, he knows something is wrong and pursues his search for his sister. For about a third of the book you can tell, unlike Sat, that his sister is in trouble and know that unlike her family who disown her thinking she’s to blame she is in fact not at all the one to blame.
    An informative book making honour killings understood, targeting the Sikh community but is written well enough that you understand what is going on, even if like me you knew next to nothing. The flashbacks set the mood and give you an insight throughout the book to information that mostly only you will find out. At first this book didn’t really appeal to me but a the book progresses the storyline becomes more interesting and you find yourself trying to get to the need of the book to find out what happens.
    I would recommend this book, even if this isn’t your particular genre as it is an interesting book that may inform you on a situation that you are unaware of: honour killings.

  3. From reading the first few lines you have to know what happens in Killing Honour as it has an extremely intriguing plot and though the end is quite predictable, the events leading up to it are not.
    Although at times it was a little too graphic, it was still well written and a very powerful, moving story. There were lots of exciting and dramatic parts, which made it an interesting read, however in between these there was just a bit too much suspense-building and not enough actual events- at times it did seem repetitive. This does mean you can understand more easily how Sat feels as his search for what has happened to his sister, Jas, is repeatedly hindered.
    The story is told from different characters’ points of view, making it even more difficult to put down, despite that at first it is hard to remember which character is written in which font, as they are all quite similar.
    Killing Honour is certainly a great book and one which hooked me right from the start.

    Ever since Jas, Sat’s sister, got married to Taz Atwal, she changed, becoming more and more withdrawn, until she tells Sat she needs a holiday. But that is the last time he sees her. Jas seemingly having run off, her husband Taz tells her family he has found evidence that she was having an affair, and has left to be with the other man. But Sat knows this isn’t right. Jas would never disgrace her family like that, even though they have dismissed her disappearance, seeing it as a loss of honour, and are trying to move on. Sat tries to unravel the lies surrounding Jas’s leaving, and he discovers a very similar chain of events happening a few years ago, to the wife of Taz Atwal’s brother, Ricky. As Sat gets closer and closer to the truth, he receives more and more threats from Taz and Ricky, until not just his, but his family’s lives are in danger. Sat realises he can do no more without getting somebody killed, so he leaves well alone – for the time being. For years, Jas has haunted Sat’s dreams, pleading with him to find out what really happened and tell someone. So now Sat is meeting with a reporter, and the bitter truth is going to come to light…

    This novel was expertly written, with a carefully planned and realistic plot, it kept me thinking about it long after I had put it down. It really sheds a light on a subject unknown to a lot of people, but one that can’t be ignored. I thought this book was unbelievably heart-breaking, packed with suspense and a brilliant read.

    I never had to give this book 6 marks and I read it again on my work experience and I enjoyed it more the second time around. It’s amazing how Bali Rai has written such a great book that I loved reading as I would not normally read books like this and I will by it when it’s in the shops as I can’t get to the party.

  4. The book Killing Honour is absolutely EXTREME! I have read the book 3073 times! I read it again and again EVERY day!!! I stay up all day and night every day to read it and I do not do anything else with my life but read this book! I have NOTHING else to do but read this book again and again and again and again… I love you Bali Rai!!!!

  5. This book was my favourite book out of the options! It had a great plot and I loved how much the book twisted so you couldn’t guess what was going to happen. I would’ve preferred it if the author had tied up the story a bit more at the end or made it a bit clearer what had happened to Jas but the plot was still good. I really enjoyed reading it!

  6. I really enjoyed reading this book. It sounds cliche but it was one of those books I genuinely didn’t want to put down; I couldn’t wait to find out what happened to the characters and how the story would end. I liked the way how the story was based in three sections: from the different character’s view points and feelings. I felt this kept me interested in the story and it was good to find out about all of the characters. I felt empathy towards the characters and their feelings drew me in to the book; without the emotion and determination of Sat I don’t think the story would’ve been as good. I would gladly read this book again and it is one of the best books I have read in a long time. 🙂

  7. Firstly, the plotline is amazingly well thought out and immerses the reader constantly throughout the book. The characters are full of depth and breadth in their personalities.

  8. This was a great book although it had a serious story line but I really enjoyed it:) 5 out of 5 stars like!!

  9. I absolutely loved this book, from page 1 I was drawn in to the book. It’s full of suspense, mystery and was very thrilling.

  10. This book was very gripping! I was literally on the edge of my seat!! It was that good!! I rate this book a 10 out of 10! It was so epic! The epicosity was above standard! It was like one long film taking me through the events and making me wonder what was going to happen next! It was like a detective/coming-of-age novel, finding the clues to where Jas is whilst taking us through their everyday lives and how they suddenly CHANGE…

  11. I really enjoyed reading this and trying to piece together the mystery of what happened to Jas. I loved how down to earth the book is, it gets into the really ‘nitty and gritty’.

  12. From reading the first few lines you have to know what happens in Killing Honour as it has an extremely intriguing plot and though the end is quite predictable, the events leading up to it are not.
    Although at times it was a little too graphic, it was still well written and a very powerful, moving story. There were lots of exciting and dramatic parts, which made it an interesting read, however in between these there was just a bit too much suspense-building and not enough actual events- at times it did seem repetitive. This does mean you can understand more easily how Sat (the main character) feels as his search for what has happened to his sister, Jas, is repeatedly hindered.
    The story is told from different characters’ points of view, making it even more difficult to put down, despite that at first it is hard to remember which character is written in which font, as they are all quite similar.
    Killing Honour is certainly a great book and one which hooked me right from the start.

    By Lauren

    Ever since Jas, Sat’s sister, got married to Taz Atwal, she changed, becoming more and more withdrawn, until she tells Sat she needs a holiday. But that is the last time he sees her. Jas seemingly having run off, her husband Taz tells her family he has found evidence that she was having an affair, and has left to be with the other man. But Sat knows this isn’t right. Jas would never disgrace her family like that, even though they have dismissed her disappearance, seeing it as a loss of honour, and are trying to move on. Sat tries to unravel the lies surrounding Jas’s leaving, and he discovers a very similar chain of events happening a few years ago, to the wife of Taz Atwal’s brother, Ricky. As Sat gets closer and closer to the truth, he receives more and more threats from Taz and Ricky, until not just his, but his family’s lives are in danger. Sat realises he can do no more without getting somebody killed, so he leaves well alone – for the time being. For years, Jas has haunted Sat’s dreams, pleading with him to find out what really happened and tell someone. So now Sat is meeting with a reporter, and the bitter truth is going to come to light…

    This novel was expertly written, with a carefully planned and realistic plot, it kept me thinking about it long after I had put it down. It really sheds a light on a subject unknown to a lot of people, but one that can’t be ignored. I thought this book was unbelievably heart-breaking, packed with suspense and a brilliant read.

    By Sarah

  13. Killing Honour was a really moving book and was very shocking, enjoyed it very much- couldn’t put it down.

  14. I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed it because it was a bit of a mystery book and I enjoy mystery books. I think you used very good emotive language and because of that I felt Sat’s pain.I think you should write more books like this.

  15. I really enjoyed reading this book because it was really easy to understand and I didn’t get lost half way through like in other books. ^_^

  16. I was very moved by this story, and impressed by Sat’s determination to find out what had happened to his sister.

    A good book that I would gladly read again.

  17. Killing Honour is a dramatic story of a young boy called Sat, who’s sister (Jas) supposedly runs away with someone after being married. Sat does not belive she would do this becasue of how well he knows her and how faithful she is. He looks in to all possibilities and discovers something terrible about Jas’ Husband. This book was very enjoyable and I do recommend other people to read it. This shows some truths about what real life can be like in a Punjab household and shows how some families will do anything to protect their so called Honour instead of caring for their friends and family. This book was amazing and gave me a true insight into how important Honour can be in some Punjab families. I would give this book a high rating of 8/10 because I do not feel there was enough action but that is just my opinion. I feel you should read it yourself and decide for yourself and don’t forget to enjoy it, but I’m sure you will.

  18. i thought this book was alright, whether it is because I’m a girl I don’t know but I think this book should have a higher age rate on it but altogether this book is in my top 3 xx

  19. This was a moving story. A one that was easy to follow. This book had me in tears because of the whole subject of the story. I really enjoyed reading this book.

Comments are closed.