Savannah Grey by Cliff McNish

It’s a difficult time for fifteen-year-old Savannah Grey – she’s settled into her latest foster placement, but her body is acting strangely. Then other strange things begin to happen: nature, it seems, is exerting an overpowering force on the world. Birds behave erratically; gusts of wind blow leaves so fiercely they seem to lure people away. And Savannah discovers she has supernatural powers. Meanwhile, she feels drawn to the new boy Reece whose life is even stranger than hers. Quickly Savannah and Reece realise that nature has a purpose for them both. For they are on course to meet the vile and evil Ocrassa, who wants to destroy the world by corrupting nature. And it wants Savannah Grey to help realise its savage intent.

15 thoughts on “Savannah Grey by Cliff McNish

  1. Savannah Grey had an original story-line and was very creative, however on the other hand the ending was quite obvious and you didn’t have to be a genius to realise that there was a darker side to Reece. The story was well thought out and spent the right amount of time on each event, the beginning didn’t drag and the end wasn’t rushed like other books.
    I personally dislike love stories, however this one was…bearable, due to the interesting main storyline and the information that the author gives you throughout the book.

    Overall I would say this book was okay, I would give this a 7/10

  2. Savnnah Grey by Cliff McNish

    When reading the back of this book I wasn’t sure what to expect. Savannah Grey has settled into her latest foster placement, but her body is acting strangely. Then the world seems to start acting strangely. Birds behave erratically; gusts of wind blow leaves so fiercely they seem to lure people away. And Savannah discovers she has supernatural powers. Meanwhile, she feels drawn to the new boy Reece whose life is even stranger than hers. Quickly Reece and Savannah realise that nature has a purpose for them both. They are on course to meet the evil Ocrassa, who wants to destroy the world by corrupting nature. And it wants Savannah Grey to help realise its savage intent. This book was very different to what I normally read and I didn’t really enjoy it. It was well written and fascinating but monsters are not what I like to read about. It was quite hard to understand Savannah as a character but I think McNish could be a writer to watch out for in the future.

    By Kaajal

  3. This was my favourite book because I love fantasy stories and I seem to connect to that genre better than others because I find them more interesting and easier to read 😀

  4. I enjoyed reading this book though the storyline does not usually appeal to me. I found the twists kept me hooked more than any other book of this style normally would.
    I believe that Cliff McNish is one of the most talented authors whose books I’ve ever read. His writing style is enchanting and, although this was not my favourite of his collection, his original and inspiring style was still visible throughout.
    This is definitely one of my top three reads for this year’s NETBA.

    For those who enjoyed this book, look up his other works, e.g. ,The Doomspell Trilogy’ and ‘Breathe’ – my favourite book, I’ve read it so many times I could probable recite it backwards 🙂

  5. I loved this book from start to end! I loved the whole storyline and the plot was amazing! There were points in the book where I thought OH NO! what’s going to happen. The twists in this book were amazing ! Definitely on my favourite book list!!!

  6. Excellent book to read – and if you like this book you will like the book Shivers……………x

  7. I refuse to spend too much time venting my frustration at this book to you all so I’ll skip to the point. I did not like this book. In fact, I did not finish this book. The only emotion I ever felt whilst reading it was the strong desire to fling it across the room. I have trouble deciding whether the monster was weirdly stupid or stupidly weird…either way it wasn’t scary at all and, sorry, but I felt it added nothing to the plot because it was so impossible to relate to. Savannah was also very hard work to empathize with and I find that I need to be able to relate to characters in books to enjoy them. I think it tells you a lot that I actually stopped reading when we reached the ending climax, a point at which most books chain themselves to your hands and force you to eat, do homework and pat the dog one handed because you simply cannot put it down, a feature I find important in literature and absent from this book.

    By Lucy

    Savannah Grey is certainly a very unusual book. I didn’t really know what to expect before reading the book as it was unclear what kind of a book it was. After reading the book I am still unclear as to which genre it fits into. The book contains elements of horror, fantasy, romance and thriller genres.
    I thought that the ending of the book was quite confusing but equally clever. The extremely unexpected twist at the end added to the books appeal. The plot had obviously had a lot of thought behind it.
    I liked the intertwining chapters written from the monsters’ point of view interlinking with the main story. This gave an extra depth to the monsters allowing us to get to know more about them and why they were preparing to fight Savannah.
    The idea of the book is so original and unique that it took me a while to get to understand the book fully. This made the beginning section of the book drag on somewhat. However I am glad that I kept reading until the end as it did round of an extremely unusual book well. Although not my favourite book of the awards, it is still an interesting book!

    By Hilary

  8. Savannah Grey was an enjoyable read, the characters relatable and the intertwining chapter about the Orcrassa portrayed an interesting slant on the theory of evolution. I really liked the twist near the end, it definitely made me view the story in a whole new light. I wouldn’t go as far to say it was a horror story as the title seems to suggest. It wasn’t the best book in this award but definitely wasn’t the worst.
    By Karina

    This book turned out to be one of my favourites. It shocked me because the story was really original and I had absolutely no idea what was going to come next. It was extremely well written and most definitely gave me a lot to think about when it came to deciding on whether characters were ‘good’ or ‘bad’. My friend started the book before me and gave me brief descriptions of one of the monsters just before we went to sleep — it was so freaky that I had trouble getting to bed. But when I read the book for myself it was no way near as terrifying. I wouldn’t agreed with the term ‘horror’ when describing this particular book because it really wasn’t scary, it was clever and thought provoking but it described the monsters in such depth that you couldn’t really dislike them. I loved the twist towards the end — I totally didn’t see it coming and it was brilliant. The book ended a bit abruptly though and I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not.

    By Simran

  9. Savannah Grey is a book that is very hard to describe. It contains elements of mystery, romance, thrill and fantasy that combine to make a very creative, unique piece of literature. The characters of Savannah and Reece are described decently as two people who relish the fact that they share an unusual gift or as some would say; a burden. But we are given no clue until right at the end of the novel that Reece is not the person we think he is- this is an ingenious technique in that it comes as a complete surprise, maybe even a pleasant surprise!
    Fantasy is another genre of literature that I really enjoy but I must say that this is a book unlike any others I have read before! The plot to this story is so obscure and random that it is in fact quite effective in the readers’ eyes. I think that the two narrators was a good technique in some ways (it helped us to understand the background of the obscurities in Savannah and Reece’s throats) but contrastingly I also found the narration of the Ocrassa quite confusing as it used biological jargon which I feel was quite hard to follow. As well, it would perhaps help readers to enjoy the story of Savannah Grey more if the role of her foster mother was explained a bit more thoroughly as well as why she felt like she had to keep moving foster families- this could bring greater understanding in my opinion.
    My favourite part of Savannah Grey was the episode in the cafe when the leaves were surrounding Nina and Savannah, consequently spurring Savannah’s throat to make its infamous noises. I chose this part of the book because it is a scene that sticks in the reader’s head whilst reading the rest of the book, as a very important, relevant scene. The descriptions in this section are fantastic! For example I admire the simile: “The enclosing walls of the cafe seemed to be acting like an echo chamber, magnifying the sounds.”
    Cliff McNish certainly has created a book that can be described as one of a kind because he has come up with an idea so original and different that it must be hard for anyone to imagine how he came up with such a fantastic plot for a book!

    By Jessica

    Savannah Grey is an exciting and dramatic story. The unusual storyline keeps you hooked, throughout the entire book. This book contains everything you want in a good book, mystery, suspense and even a bit of romance as well! It an odd mix, but it works amazingly well! When I first started it, I found it all a bit confusing, as the chapters are split between Savannah and the Occrassa monster. But, as the story unfolds it all fits into place, leaving you completely hooked. The book ends with an unusual twist that I was definitely not expecting, but it is a great way to end such an unusual story. Although it’s classed as a horror story, I’m not sure I think it’s a horror story; however it is still a good book.

    By Freya

  10. I really enjoyed this book. It was soo exciting Icould never put the book down. It had me hooked from the very first pages. It was such an amazing book that I would read it over and over again.

  11. This book is amazing, I love Savannah. I was extremely pleased with the book, I was just a little bit confused by the ending. To me the ending felt like it was lacking something but overall this was an amazing book.

  12. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it made me wonder what was going to happen, especially at the end when you could cut the tension between me and the book with a knife…

Comments are closed.