Newes from the Dead

Mary Hooper

It is 1650 and a baby lies raw and cold, dead before it even drew breath. A young servant girl, terrified and alone, is accused of its murder and sent to the gallows. Protesting her innocence in the chill air of a December morning, Anne Green is hanged. Moments later her lifeless body is lifted down from the scaffold and carried to the College of Physicians for brutal dissection.

But as Anne’s corpse lies on the table and the doctors assemble, a strange rattle is heard in her throat. Against all the odds, could she still be alive?

15 thoughts on “Newes from the Dead

  1. I disagree with most of the comments posted about this novel. I found the storyline was easy to follow yet it seemed to drag on after a while. The initial idea was an interesting one and I too liked the fact that the story kept jumping from past to present. However this was not my favourite read in the category.

  2. I quite liked this book because it kept jumping to different parts of the past and present always keeping your attention

  3. I’ll admit it – this book was interesting. However, it wasn’t really my cup of tea. I was expecting more from this book, if I’m being honest.
    In my opinion, Mary had tried (and failed) to cram too much information in the pages of this book. There was a lot of mystery, so lovers of detective books and mystery stories would probably enjoy this more than I had. Still, a good effort, Mary Hooper, and I wish you well. 🙂

  4. I really enjoyed this book. Mary Hooper has captured the characters so well, they go from being figments of your imagination to nearly real-life people. Since reading this book I have branched out more when selecting my reading material.

  5. Newes from the dead was a good book. I had already read it before it made the shortlist so knew that i enjoyed it and that it was my kind of book. i like the way that the narrative voice flips between her and the scientists and the idea that she is still alive as this really did happen in the era that the book is set in. Overall a good book but it did lack something with the second reading.

  6. I liked this book a lot, it had a lot of mysteries to solve all wrapped up in one. I loved the ending because it was very unexpected. Some parts seemed to grab me and pull me into what was going on. It was really good.

  7. It wasn’t really historical fiction and he wasn’t a scientist, he was a scholar (learning to be a doctor).
    I really liked this book for reasons I could not explain
    YAY!!!!!!!!

  8. I loved this book because I like historic fiction but also I like how it changed from her point of view to the scientists’ point of view throughout the story.

  9. I really enjoyed this book-I read it in one go as it really gripped me and I couldn’t put it down. The darkness of the beginning chilled me and the character evoked a longing for her to survive. Brilliant! 5 stars

  10. I loved this book because it was based on a true story. I also loved the way Mary Hooper captured the characters in this book. I will admit some of the chapters are a bit rude but besides that I absolutely loved this book and I would put it in my top 10 favorite books.

  11. Newes from the Dead was at times hard to follow as it switched between tenses – from the past to the present. On the other hand I found the book extremely interesting. The storyline made me tearful at times but the outcome made me feel otherwise. This was a great well written book!

  12. The book Newes from the Dead was a very fabulous and dramatic book.The way it started in my opinion I couldn’t really get into it but as it got into the book I couldn’t stop myself from reading more and more. The author should be proud of the book she has written because it is amazing!

  13. I love this book it is enchanting and captivating . Some pieces of this book made me want to somehow jump in and stop what was going to happen. Newes from the dead is now one of my favourite books now and I thnk the author has done a brilliant job!

  14. ‘News from the dead’ was a very gripping tale, i especially liked how the author built the tension by jumping backwards in time, and then back to the present time.the story started boring but got better and better as we got closer to the end. I loved how there was two points of view.

  15. Newes from the Dead is an intriging and motivating tale of love,death ,betrayal and life as a maid. A perfect read for any bookworm of any age or gender

Comments are closed.