Blood Ties

Sophie McKenzie

When Theo discovers the father he thought died when he was a baby is still alive, he’s determined to find him. The clues lead him to the lonely Rachel, who has problems of her own, including parents who compare her unfavourably to her long-dead sister. But when Rachel and Theo are attacked by men from RAGE – the Righteous Army against Genetic Engineering – at Rachel’s school disco, they are rescued by strangers and taken to meet a mysterious figure. There, they both make some startling discoveries about their identities, which will affect their past, present, and future in dramatic and life-altering ways…

13 thoughts on “Blood Ties

  1. I totally agree with you Lucy. I was really enchanted by this book as this is the sort of thing I love to read. The sinister and gripping storyline really got me into this book and I woud recomend it to anyone who likes a chilling story or who has hesitated to read it in the past. A fabulous read.

  2. Blood ties is a good book for readers that like science. At first I thought this was boring but gradually got better with each chapter. I was really shocked with the twist I thoughtit addedan amazing element to the book.Once I got into the book and storyline i couldnt stop reading because I wanted to find out what happens in the end! 😀

  3. Lucy

    I found this book really pleasing. I do believe that somebody who has an imagination this big is a superstar. Sophie Mckenzie (author of book blood ties)is a literature gem. She is a burst of fresh air compared to the usual teen books I would read and I would fully recomend this and her other books to anybody who was looking for a good read 🙂 I love this book so much !!!!!!!

    Calum

    I thought this book touched on some vital issues on discrimination, but in ways we wouldn’t think. Because it is so deep and almost futuristic in its setting, it scores a high place in my top books.

  4. This is a really well-written book that flashes between the past, present and future too.
    The way this was written, in dual-narrative (both characters points of view) was really interesting too. It was an effective way to write this novel.
    I really feel for the character Rachel, as she is being bullied. I haven’t read any of Sophie’s other books, but if they are as good as this one, I think I will. 😀

  5. yes buts certain stories are meant for re-reading because of the amazing story they tell and how you just want to know that story over and over again (e.g. i’v read this book i’v got called “Tiger, Tiger” so many times that i’v lost count but i still think its a brilliant book)

  6. I don’t buy any for that reason i just borrow them from libraries and friends. As I’ve already said there are too many books in the world to re-read others

  7. I love this book so much I couldn’t put it down. What I loved about it is just everything! The whole plot and how it was always changing from Theo to Rachel and back again. I am hoping that there is another book to countine after this one because it was just breathtaking. I also think it is clever how the author (Sophie McKenzie) made Theo the type of person who never lets anyone gets too close (but Rachel) and how Rachel is the one being bullied at school. I am hoping that my school can get more books that are written by Sophie McKenzie.

  8. I really liked this book and how the plot changed so you didn’t know who was good and who was evil, I also liked the two main characters, Rachel and Theo, and the way they deal with the mess they are in.
    This book has made me more confident in my reading and I am thinking I will try out other books done by the same author.

  9. I liked this book because of the way it shows both characters point of view. Parts of it really keep you guessing and you dont have a clue what is going to happen next. I like the fact that Rachel is not your typical run of the mill skinny popular girl who always gets her own way and i thought the ending was quite touching. I liked this book and would like to read more like it … but then again i like most things i read!!

  10. I really enjoyed this book. It was very interesting and completely different to what I normally read so I was suprised that I enjoyed it. I probably wouldn’t re-read it but that’s because while it was good there are many other books that I like much more!
    How can you not re-read books? If you don’t then what’s the point in buying any?

  11. How can you say that the characters are stereotypical; since when are computer hackers albino girls?
    I thought that this book was awesome!
    The plot twisted and turned all the time. There’s more than one plot twist.
    Also how is it being memorable a bad thing. Its a compliment when a plot twist sticks in your mind. That is what it’s meant to do. There are too many great books out there to warrant re-reading anything.

  12. I absolutely fell in love with this book. I was hoping to find a book I would not be able to put down and this book fulfilled this for me 100%. I loved the charators and plot to the full extent! I would propose that this is the type of book that you could read again and still be shocked. Everything in this book was extremely good from the beginning to the end!! Well done Sophie McKenzie, this was a really good book!! 🙂

  13. Action packed, but the characters, with the exception of Rachel, come across as rather stereotypical. The plot, which at first seemed sensible, made me feel “Is that for real?” after finishing the book. The plot-twist, despite being comparitevly unexpected, is too memorable, discourages re-reading.

Comments are closed.