The Black Tattoo

Sam Enthoven

Jack doesn’t know what he’s got himself into. One minute he and his best friend Charlie were up in Chinatown having crispy duck with Charlie’s dad (and Jack was having to listen to Charlie shouting at his dad for leaving his mum) – then next minute they were in a mysterious room above a theatre, with some of the strangest characters they’d ever encountered. And they were about to take The Test…and something very very weird was about to begin. The Test transforms Charlie – leaving him with the distinctive markings of the Black Tattoo – and with a temper that seems out of control. The boys’ meeting with Esme, a young girl with the most impressive martial arts skills this side of Bruce Lee, her huge and hairy father Raymond, and the mysterious Nick seem to have swept Charlie and Jack into a world they had no idea existed. And it’s only going to get stranger…This epic tale of good and evil, demons and hell, vomiting bats and huge battles marks the debut of an incredible new talent for children’s books. Drawing on influences such as comic books, computer games and Eastern martial arts, The Black Tattoo is a book no teenager will want to miss.

18 thoughts on “The Black Tattoo

  1. this book is the best the words you can use to sum it up are fantastic, brilliant, great, the best, awesome, best, best ever, first-class, first-rate, great, like wow, marvelous, out of sight, out of this world, primo, sensational and superb, amazing, astonishing, astounding, fantastical, incredible, marvelous, miraculous, phenomenal, prodigious, stupendous, unbelievable, wonderful, wondrous that is all of them i think.

  2. I love this book it is the best in the world it is brilliant it is very very very fantastic i love everything in the book. Sam Enthoven is the best writer in the world i think his books are brilliant, fantastic, great and the best.

  3. I love this book lots and lots. It rokz ma sokz! Pleez READ THIS BOOK, oh and btw… all readers, look out for TIM Defender of the Earth. Another of SAm Enthovens drunken fantasies!! I hope you enjoy the book =]

  4. Thought it was brill as always. It’s the second time I’ve read it and a still thought it was exciting. Great story line with the hole hell thing and I’ve always loved the idea that God went to work in hell. Absolutely great book and I would recommend it to anyone.

  5. OMG!!! this book rocks, I have met Sam Enthoven before and I have read the book several times, but I still don’t get bored. He signed my book and left a note saying: “I hope you like Magic, vomiting bats and butt-kicking kung-fu, because if you do, you might have just found the perfect book for you!!” I think this applies to all readers. Enjoy

  6. I really like the way this author is thinking by mixing up the modern world with the absolute opposite fantasy world. The author has described the demons so brilliantly well you can make a mental picture of them. The story starts off quite weird, it’s like an exciting fantasy adventure but with martial arts as well. Lots of things in the book happen very suddenly. I found I could really get into this book and I like the way things are described. I found the book kept me asking questions and making me want to read more.

  7. A brilliant book from start to finish which had me constantly hooked. The story had loads of well-planned and unexpected twists and unlike lots of other books had a brilliant ending too. This book is well worth a read and I would recommend it to anyone.

  8. This is definitely a ‘marmite’ book; you either love it or you hate it. What it certainly wasn’t was unoriginal, with the devil, martial arts and vomiting bats there was plenty going on. Our judges were divided between those that loved it: brilliant, original, very different, good descriptions, funny and serious, so un-predictable: and those that hated it: appalling, dreadful, contrived, too much going on and too random.
    Read it and see what you think.

  9. I found the first few chapters of this book quite interesting then it began to drag. My favourite character was Charlie. He had a cool personality and I could imagine him clearly. At first it felt as though Sam Enthoven was just killing off all the main characters but you get used to it and begin to predict what might happen and then what you think is going to happen doesn’t happen. It makes it a good read full of shocks and surprises. The most annoying thing
    about the story is the way certain demons speak in italics or bold.

  10. I usually really enjoy this kind of random butt kickin demon fightin book, but for some unknown reason i found this hard to get into. once i got into it i was hooked but it took me about 100 pages to get to that stage. i think that it has been billed as the best book out there and, although it is good, i do not think that it is anywhere near the best on the shortlist! (sorry if this comment offends anyone’s opinions)

  11. I really enjoyed this book. I read it on a first class trip to Paris and I have to say the book is first class material.

  12. This book is what it say on the cover what more could you want with a book that contain- helish demons, vomiting bats, world-class martial arts.

    The way the writer described the scence and look of the character they really come to live in my mind. I could feel the words running throught me as if I was there watching the fighting, vomiting bats, training session, the master craft (sword).

    I love the characters, I think having 3 person group was good. And most of all they were compelte different from the other. But yet form to be compelte one can not do with out the other.

    Over all I really liked this book, I could not put it down stay up for a long time just to finish the book.

    I think this book is 10/10 thumbs up all the way

  13. Black tattoo

    After reading 10 pages I was really hooked and wanted to find out more.
    The story is well written and I would love to read more books like that.

    19/10
    jade peters
    yr 9
    berwick high school

  14. This was deefinatey the best book on the list. I LOVED it!
    It was fast-moving, exciting, full of danger, and extreamly well written. Unpredictable too. I had no idea which way the plot would turn. Fantastic!

  15. Right from the start this book grabs you.It’s really exciting and is the perfect combination of magic and martial arts.

  16. I think this book is great, so far (I’m still reading it!). Really exciting, the best book I’ve read from the list.

Comments are closed.