Wasted by Nicola Morgan

Jack worships luck and decides his actions by the flip of a coin. No risk is too great if the coin demands it. Luck brings him Jess, a beautiful singer who will change his life. But Jack’s luck is running out, and soon the stakes are high. As chance and choice unravel, the risks of Jack’s game become terrifyingly clear. An evening of heady recklessness, and suddenly a life hangs in the balance, decided by the toss of a coin. In the end, it is the reader who must choose whether to spin that coin and determine: life or death.

21 thoughts on “Wasted by Nicola Morgan

  1. Wasted, by Nicola Morgan is a good read. It has interesting twists, and the reader can sometimes determine what happens next by flipping a coin. I found it slightly muddling at times, however most of the time I loved it. Wasted grabs your attention from the very beginning and holds on to it right through until the end. Throughout the story you are waiting for a tragedy, and it comes at the very end! I didn’t like the way there were two endings, so I read them both! Overall a good read, slightly different to what I’d usually read, and a good book to take on holiday!

    By Olivia

  2. Wasted started off as a fantastic book because of it’s interesting characters and the clever way it was written.
    I did however think the chapter choosing could have been better because I would have liked two totally different stories (like the Goosebumps books) because it was rather pointless to let us choose then only go with one story no matter what we picked to be quite honest. Or is that just me expecting too much from this book?

    The ending also let this book down for me; you could see it coming from a mile off. I thought with there being two of them, at least one of them would have been a decent way to finish it off. This book gets an 8/10 as it is readable and rather good overall.

  3. I enjoyed this book. The coin idea was very entertaining (reminded me of when I read ‘Goosebumps’ as a little’un). However I did once again find the ending quite predictable
    I would definitely recomend this book to anyone who likes to read something a bit different :)

  4. I didn’t like this book as I first started reading it. It was told as the people were doing the actions which I found a bit weird to get used to. However, as I continued to read I started to enjoy the book. I liked how it started with the end and backtracked all the events. This tells the story of Jack, a boy who worships luck and takes huge risks in life by deciding his actions by the flip of a coin. His luck brings him to Jess one day, a singer who will change his life. But is there such thing as too much luck? The stakes are high. The luck is low. As the coin decides and choices are revealed, the risks of this game because very clear. With an evening of heady recklessness suddenly someone’s life hangs in the balance, decided by the toss of a coin. In the end, it is the reader who must choose whether to spin that coin and determine: life or death. The story is interwoven with “what ifs?”, meaning you have to turn the page to discover the outcome of each decision, and the final twist is brilliant, giving the reader the chance to participate in the book. This is a cleverly written book that was a great read. I thoroughly recommend it for a fun, short read.

    By Kaajal

  5. I absolutely adored this book, it was captivating from beginning to end and the flip a coin idea was ingenious! I followed the story line easily and at points I felt as if I was in the book myself and wanted to try and stop what was going to happen. The ending I chose was very good and I was glad I flipped the side I did!! I felt like I knew the characters as if they were my own friends and I felt I knew how Jack flipped his coin to the exact detail !! Definitely on my favourite book list!

  6. This book is amazing, I love how it’s based on luck and I love how the choice is given to the reader at the end. The head and tails part is the best and is completely different to other ordinary books. It’s completely original. I love this book, it’s the best !!!

  7. This book is the best by FAR! The whole book is just amazing! It drags you in and the heads or tails twist is amazing! The part at the end where the reader gets the choice of an ending is great! It makes the reader feel like they are involved in the book and are actually there deciding the good or the bad and that just makes the book even more magnificent than it already is! I couldn’t put this book down!

  8. Wasted tells the tale of a boy, Jack, who believes that his share of bad luck has run out, so he decides to test his luck by playing a game. He flips a coin and lets the coin make his decisions for him. Then Jack meets Jess. He believes that luck has brought them together. Instantly Jack and Jess are drawn towards each other and this book tells the story of their relationship.
    The relationship between Jack and Jess was charming. You could easily relate to both the characters. The book described the pair of them grow as people and almost turning from children to adults, just because of meeting each other. I also thought that the relationship between Jess and her dependant, alcoholic mother captured perfectly how some parents can feel when they realise their children are becoming independent and growing away from them.
    I thought that the ending where the reader had to play Jack’s game to decide which one of the two possible endings was going to happen, was ingenious. The fact that the reader got to play Jack’s game gave the reader some interaction with the book. The parts of the book where it explains what could have happened if chance had been just slightly different add to its interest. I also enjoyed the fact that the book had different chapters focussing on the different characters, even minor ones like the cat. This made every character seem significant to the book.
    Wasted grabs your attention from the very beginning and holds on to it right through until the end. If you would like to read a book with a twist on a classic love story this is one for you. Although it does follow the storyline boy meets girl, the vivid writing, colourful characters and original twists throughout the book, make it different from the rest.

    By Hilary

    I really enjoyed Wasted and the entire concept of letting a coin decide life’s choices for you. I found that I cared ridiculously deeply for Jack and Jess, so much so, that I picked the Happy Ending at the end and couldn’t bring myself to look at the alternative and even then, because I didn’t know which way it was SUPPOSED to go, I only skimmed over it. I also found it really effective when Jess sort of flows into the music and Morgan describes it beautifully. I thought the other characters in the book, especially Sylvia and Kelly really were very believable and added loads of different levels to the story. The whole plot, when you sum it up, sounds very boring but somehow Morgan’s writing style made it amazing and seemed like the best plot ever!

    by Lucy

  9. It’s a good read but really confusing. 5 chapters in and I still had no idea of what was going on. When the story finally came together it made you think of the mechanics behind luck, and the pyschological and scientific side of things (i.e. luck and chance, evolution and creationism). There are a few unexplained phenomena (Jack going out in the middle of the night with his coin to plot his route) but otherwise it keeps you interested until the end.

  10. I adore this book. I could read it over and over again. I loved the ending where you had to play Jack’s game! I got tails and I loved it! I was a little naughty and read heads but as soon as I realised what was happening I stopped reading and flicked back to tails and re-read it as I didn’t want to think about that ;P I truly adore this book and I love the Schrodinger’s cat theory, that was a cool enhancement to the story! I can’t get enough of this story! I looooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeee it!

  11. I thought this book was quite slow to begin with, then becomes more fast paced as the book goes on. I don’t think it ended in the best way, but I liked that the reader decided Jack’s fate.

  12. Wasted, I have to say, is an awesome book. I like it when you can toss a coin which is tails (no) heads (yes), to see which way you could go.

  13. I think that the writer talking about luck and chance in so many different ways was very fascinating as I am believer in God and the book in some ways poked me in my beliefs of; does God let things happen by chance or does he let fate take it course and the things that people do results in the luck they get in life. When reading the book, it was interesting that some of the events can be explained with scientific explanations as others not. I like how at the end of the book, you the reader gets to choose the end and be a real part of the book (by flicking a pound coin to decide the end) and it is very rare to get that in a book and I think that was the best part. The book itself kept me on my toes and I just could not put the book down, there was too much action and anticipation.

  14. At the begining a very enthralling read but towards the end the story deteriorates and becomes dull and immensely predictable to me.

  15. Wasted-
    A tale of life, drink and destiny, this book shows how life can change over tiny little things like turning a corner or leaving the house at a different time. All things don’t have to happen, fate changes the world and this exciting story shows that a couple can change events in life. A prom, a band and the worst part of all misery.
    A FLIP OF A COIN CAN CHANGE A LIFE!

  16. I felt this book was really good how everything is determined and decided by the flip of a coin…
    In the end, I spun ‘Heads’ on the coin, I thought this ending was really good, but then, I didnt read the ‘Tails’ ending. I thought this book was very good, and will probably read the ‘Tails’ ending once I have read all the other books on the netba list :D

  17. Wasted is good because it makes you think of all the possibilities that could happen. I also liked the part when you had to toss the coin.

  18. wasted is a good book . you get picture in your head . I liked it when you had to toss the coin in the end to see if its heads or tales i would love to read it again

Comments are closed.